Home >politics >policy >AAP announces list of 44 shortlisted candidates for 12 seats

New Delhi: Activist turned politician Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) released its first shortlist of candidates for 12 assembly constituencies of Delhi on Friday. The party is set to make its debut in the Delhi assembly elections later this year.

The recently launched party, which has chosen an “experimental method" to select its candidates, had invited applications from the residents of Delhi about a month back. The candidates named will be subject to further scrutiny.

The list includes Kejriwal’s associates in the anti-corruption movement such as Manish Sisodia and Shazia Ilmi.

“For the 12 assembly seats, we received nearly 106 applications and finally 44 names were shortlisted," Kejriwal told reporters on Friday. “The list of those who have applied includes IIT (Indian Institute of Technology) engineers, RWA (resident welfare association) members and even workers from the Congress party and the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party),"

The candidates will also engage in debates in their respective constituencies. The party expects to finalize the candidate list for all the 70 constituencies at the end of the month.

“We have ensured that no two members of the same family are given a ticket," Kejriwal said. “While BJP and Congress fielded 19 tainted candidates each in the last elections, we have made sure we don’t field any such candidates."

Kejriwal’s party grew out of an anti-corruption movement after it split with veteran activist Anna Hazare. Delhi state has been governed by the Congress party under chief minister Sheila Dikshit since 1998.

Subscribe to newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperLivemint.com is now on Telegram. Join Livemint channel in your Telegram and stay updated

My Reads Logout