New Delhi: Union minister Nirmala Sitharaman will get a Rajya Sabha nomination from Andhra Pradesh after her name was finalized by the Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday.

The party decided to nominate her for the Upper House from Andhra Pradesh where the seat fell vacant after the death of N. Janardhana Reddy on 9 May.

“The Central Election Committee has decided to nominate Nirmala Sitharaman for the bye-election to the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) of Andhra Pradesh," BJP general secretary Ananth Kumar said.

The process of filing nominations for the election to the Council of States has started and the last date for filing of nominations is 23 June. The election for the seat is slated to be held on 3 July.

Sitharaman, the Union minister of state (independent charge) for commerce and industry and minister of state for finance and corporate affairs, had missed out on getting a Rajya Sabha berth from the party in the past.

After being inducted in the Union council of ministers, she has to be elected as a member of either of the two Houses of Parliament within a period of six months.