Home >politics >policy >Suresh Kalmadi denied ticket as Congress names 58 candidates in third list

New Delhi: Senior Congress leader Suresh Kalmadi, accused of irregularities in the preparations for the 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games, has been denied a party ticket to contest the national election that’s to be held over the next two months.

The Congress party on Tuesday announced 58 names in its third list of candidates for the election, which included a number of young leaders. With this, the Congress has so far announced 323 candidates.

The Congress is struggling to salvage its reputation after a series of corruption charges against some of its leaders or those of its allies.

Kalmadi was charged by a Delhi court in February last year with allegedly cheating, conspiring and causing a loss of over Rs90 crore to the exchequer as the chairman of the Commonwealth Games organizing committee.

The Congress will field 32-year-old Vishwajeet Kadam, son of Maharashtra forest minister Patangrao Kadam, as its candidate in the Pune Lok Sabha constituency.

The party decided to field sitting lawmakers in five of the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi—Union minister Kapil Sibal from Chandni Chowk; Krishna Tirath from North West Delhi; Jai Prakash Agarwal from North East Delhi; Sandeep Dikshit from East Delhi; and Ajay Maken from New Delhi.

In Ajmer, Rajasthan, the party has again fielded 36-year-old Sachin Pilot, a Union minister and the state unit president, and Gurudaspur, Punjab, will be represented by Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee president Pratap Singh Bajwa.

In Haryana, the party named its newly appointed state unit chief Ashok Tanwar as its candidate from Sirsa for the second time.

Cricketer-turned-Congress lawmaker Mohammed Azharuddin, who had won the 2009 national election from Uttar Pradesh’s Moradabad constituency, will now contest from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan.

Congress general secretary C.P. Joshi will contest from the Jaipur Rural constituency. He represented Bhilwara in the 15th Lok Sabha.

Ajit Jogi, former Chhattisgarh chief minister and former Union minister, will contest from Mahasamund in Chhattisgarh, and Union minister Srikant Jena will contest from Balasore, Odisha.

Subscribe to newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperLivemint.com is now on Telegram. Join Livemint channel in your Telegram and stay updated

My Reads Logout