New Delhi: The government on Wednesday appointed Yudhvir Singh Malik, special secretary in think tank Niti Aayog, as the new chairman of the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI), replacing Raghav Chandra, who will now join the National Commission for Scheduled Tribes as secretary.

The appointments committee of the cabinet also made 17 other changes in the top level of the bureaucracy, an official announcement said.

Chandra joined NHAI in August last year as the chairman. Yudhvir Singh, former chief executive officer of the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI), was made special secretary in Niti Aayog last year.

Anil Swarup, who currently serves as secretary in the ministry of coal, has been appointed as secretary in the department of school education and literacy under the ministry of human resources, replacing Subash Chandra Khuntia.

Kewal Kumar Sharma will take over as the secretary of the department of higher education, ministry of human resources, replacing Vinay Sheel Oberoi.

K.P. Krishnan, at present special secretary in the department of land resources, ministry of rural development, has been shifted to the ministry of skill development and entrepreneurship with the same title, replacing Rohit Nandan.