Hyderabad: The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) is set to form the first government of Telangana following the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, while the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has been returned to power after a decade’s hiatus in what remains of the Telugu-speaking state.

Andhra Pradesh, which will be officially divided on 2 June, went to polls as a united state. Apart from polling in the general election, it also voted for the state assemblies of Telangana and Seemandhra, a term coined for coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema regions of the state.

Seemandhra has 175 assembly seats, while Telangana has 119. To form a government, the winning party or coalition had to garner a simple majority of 88 and 60 seats, respectively.

The TDP, led by N. Chandrababu Naidu, secured 106 seats in Seemandhra and the TRS, led by K. Chandrasekhar Rao, popularly called KCR, bagged 69 assembly seats in Telangana.

Mirroring national trends, the Congress party was routed in both Telangana and Seemandhra. Andhra Pradesh had played a key role in helping the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance capture power in New Delhi in 2004 and 2009.

The Congress, which pro-actively created Telangana, could win only 20 assembly and two parliamentary seats in what will be the country’s 29th state. In Seemandhra, the party drew a blank.

The Congress leadership failed to highlight its role in creating the state, K. Srinivasulu, dean of the school of social sciences at Osmania University, said.

In an embarrassment for the Congress party, nine outgoing Union ministers from Andhra Pradesh lost the elections: S. Jaipal Reddy, Balaram Naik, Sarve Satyanarayana (in Telangana), M.M. Pallam Raju, Kotla Jayasurya Prakash Reddy, Kishore Chandra Deo, Killi Krupa Rani and Panabaka Lakshmi (Seemandhra).

Daggubati Purandeswari, who switched to the BJP after the Bill for Reorganisation of Andhra Pradesh was passed by Parliament, also lost in Rajampeta Lok Sabha constituency. The Congress state unit chiefs of Telangana and Seemandhra, Ponnala Lakshmaiah and N. Raghuveera Reddy, respectively, lost.

The YSR Congress Party (YSRCP), founded by Congress rebel Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy, could not repeat its spectacular performance of 2012 by-elections, when it won 15 of 18 assembly constituencies, and the lone Lok Sabha seat. On Friday, the party won 67 seats, and will sit in the opposition.

“It was surprising. The Narendra Modi factor did play a role," Jaganmohan Reddy said. “We will recover from this. In another five years, we will come back," added Reddy, who won by a margin of 75,000 votes from Pulivendula constituency. His mother Y.S. Vijayalakshmi lost the Visakhapatnam parliamentary constituency by over 90,000 votes.

It was a bipolar contest between the TDP and the YSRCP in Seemandhra, which is coming to terms with the eventual loss of the state capital and the economic engine, Hyderabad, to Telangana. Building a new capital and ensuring economic growth, as a result, became important factors in swinging the votes in TDP’s favour, analysts said.

“This victory belongs to the people," Naidu said. “There are many problems (for Seemandhra). There is a lot of responsibility on us... We stand by the promises we made in our manifesto." Naidu said the swearing-in ceremony will be held in Seemandhra. He did not identify the location.

TRS chief KCR, who campaigned breathlessly across the 10 districts of Telangana, swept the Medak parliamentary constituency with a margin of 397,000 votes, while in Gajwel, where he contested as an assembly candidate, he won by a margin of 19,333.

The TDP won 15 assembly constituencies in Telangana, while its coalition partner, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won five. A BJP victory in any of the constituencies will go to the kitty of the TDP, as the party had entered into a pre-electoral tie-up with the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in April.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen won seven assembly segments, and retained the Hyderabad parliamentary constituency, which it has been holding since 1984. The TRS won 11 of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana, while the TDP-BJP combine had managed to win two parliamentary constituencies.

The BJP secured four assembly and two parliamentary seats in Seemandhra. The TDP cornered 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Seemandhra, taking the total tally of the TDP-BJP combine to 17. The YSR Congress won in eight.

The TDP’s performance in the Lok Sabha elections will reflect in the number of the BJP-led NDA that has captured power at the Centre.