Home >Politics >Policy >By-polls: NDA wins 7 seats, including Muzaffarnagar

New Delhi: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Tuesday won seven of the 12 assembly constituencies where by-elections were conducted, including Muzaffarnagar which was ravaged by riots in 2013.

The 12 seats are located in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab, Telangana and Tripura. Commending the effort, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted, “Happy to see the victory of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and allies in by-polls in northern, southern, eastern, western and central parts of the country. I express gratitude to the people." He added, “Appreciable effort by NDA. People across India reposed faith in politics of development, development & development. Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas."

In UP, which goes to polls next year, the ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) managed to retain just one of the three seats, while BJP and Congress won one seat each. The BJP won Muzaffarnagar while Congress won Deoband. “This shows the current scenario where no party is in a position to get a majority. Anti-incumbency will go against SP while BJP and Congress try to improve their position," said S.K. Dwivedi, former head of the political science department at Lucknow University.

The ruling Congress in Karnataka lost two of the three seats to the BJP. The coalition that swept the Bihar polls failed to win the Harlakhi constituency. The seat was retained by Rashtriya Lok Samta Party, a member of NDA. In Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Punjab, the ruling NDA parties—BJP, Shiv Sena and Akali Dal won a seat each respectively. The ruling Communist Party of India (Marxist) and Telangana Rashtra Samithi retained one seat each in Tripura and Telengana.

PTI contributed to this story.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout