Home >politics >policy >Yogi Adityanath, 2 deputy chief ministers file nomination for Uttar Pradesh bypolls

Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his two deputies on Tuesday filed their nomination papers for the bypolls to the vacant legislative council seats. Two ministers, Mohsin Raza and Swatantradev Singh, too filed their nomination papers.

Adityanath and deputy chief ministers Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma filed their nomination papers in the presence of their Cabinet colleagues and senior party leaders, including newly-appointed BJP state unit chief Mahendra Nath Pandey. According to the Election Commission, scrutiny would be done tomorrow, while the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is 8 September.

Polling would be held on 15 September and the counting of votes would be done the same day. Adityanath, who took over as the chief minister on 19 March, had to become a legislator within six months of assuming office and that deadline expired on 19 September. Similarly, Maurya, Sharma, Raza and Singh were not members of either of the two Houses of the state legislature.

All of them had to get elected to either the Assembly or the Legislative Council before 19 September in order to continue as ministers. Adityanath and Maurya are presently members of the Lok Sabha. Adityanath would become the third successive chief minister after Akhilesh Yadav (Samajwadi Party) and Mayawati (Bahujan Samaj Party) to opt for the Upper House.

The four seats for which bypolls would be held on 15 September were vacated by MLCs Bukkal Nawab, Yashwant, Sarojini Agarwal and Ashok Bajpai who are all from the Samajwadi Party. Another seat fell vacant when Thakur Jaiveer Singh, a former BSP MLC, resigned from the party and joined the BJP.

Subscribe to newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperLivemint.com is now on Telegram. Join Livemint channel in your Telegram and stay updated

My Reads Logout