Chennai: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday formally announced an alliance with five regional parties, including DMDK and MDMK, and 39 smaller political outfits and seat-sharing arrangements for the Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu. This is expected to give the main opposition party a much-needed boost in a state where it has a scant presence.

“We are positive to win 25 seats out of 40 seats in Tamil Nadu (including through alliances) in 2014 elections," said Rajnath Singh, president of BJP, while announcing the seat-sharing agreement in Chennai. Tamil Nadu has a total of 39 seats and Puducherry, a Union territory, has a lone seat.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Tamil Nadu will include Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhgam (DMDK), which has been given the largest share of seats to contest—14. Pattali Makkal Katchi will contest in eight, Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhgam (MDMK) will contest in seven and the BJP will contest in eight. Smaller parties Kongu Nadu Makkal Desiya Katchi and Indiya Jananayaka Katchi will contest one seat each.

The BJP-led alliance is yet announce the list of candidates for various constituencies.

Singh said Narenda Modi, the Gujarat chief minister and prime ministerial candidate of the BJP, will campaign in the state next month. Modi has visited the state thrice in the last six months. Tamil Nadu goes to polls on 24 April.