Home / Politics / Policy /  Election results: BJP completes hat-trick in Madhya Pradesh with landslide win

Bhopal: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) returned to power with a landslide victory in the assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, winning 163 seats and leading in one more, according to vote count trends.

Incumbent chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan led from the front by registering a victory from Vidisha constituency by 16,966 votes. Chouhan received 73,783 votes against the Congress party’s Shashank Bhargava’s 56,817.

Chouhan also retained his traditional Budhni seat by a margin of 84,805 votes, with 128,730 votes against the Congress’s Mahendra Singh Chouhan, who got 43,925 votes.

The Congress won 58 seats for the 230-member Madhya Pradesh assembly, unable to avoid a BJP hat-trick of wins in the state. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won five seats.

Buoyed by the hat-trick of wins in assembly polls, Chouhan on Sunday vowed to win the maximum number of seats from his state for the BJP in next Lok Sabha election, scheduled for next year.

“The people of Madhya Pradesh, the BJP organization and a large number of party leaders who guided us in the poll campaign deserved thanks for this victory," he told reporters at his residence in Bhopal as trends emerging from the counting of votes showed the BJP retaining power in the state comfortably.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout