CPM rules out leadership change after poll debacle

CPM rules out leadership change after poll debacle

New Delhi: The Commumist Party of India (Marxist) CPI(M) on Monday ruled out any change in leadership following the poll debacle in West Bengal and Kerala as top leaders met here to analyse what went wrong for the party in the assembly elections.

The party also dubbed as rumours outgoing West Bengal chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee’s offer to opt out of the politburo. However, Bhattacharjee did not attend Monday’s politburo meeting which analysed the poll results.

CPI(M) Polit Bureau member M K Pandhe said the politburo will have a preliminary discussion on the poll results and the central committee will analyse in detail the reasons for the loss in elections.

Asked whether one can expect a leadership change following the poll setback, Pandhe said, “I don’t think there is any change in leadership."

He told reporters that reports about Bhattacharjee opting out were not right. “We have not been informed about anything. It is wrong," Pandhe said.

West Bengal CPI(M) secretary Biman Bose termed as “rumours" reports on Bhattacharjee opting out of politburo taking responsibility for the drubbing in Bengal polls.

“These are all rumours. It is concocted and manufactured," Bose said.

The Left Front faced one of its worst defeats in West Bengal managing only 62 seats in the 294 member state assembly. In Kerala, the CPM led Left Democratic Front (LDF) lost the elections by a close margin of four seats.

Other politburo members who reached the central committee office of CPM on Monday included general secretary Prakash Karat, Sitaram Yechury, Pinarayi Vijayan, Kodiyari Balakrishnan, Mohd. Amin and Manik Sarkar.