New Delhi: The Indian Railways will introduce revised flexi-fare schemes in some premium trains like Rajdhani, Shatabdi and Duronto Express from 15 March 2019. Advance bookings have begun and the required changes have been made in the ticketing system’s software. The railways in October introduced changes to flexi-fares. It decided to cancel flexi-fares for 15 trains and remove them periodically for 32 others during the lean months of February, March and August. The railways earned about 800 crore from flexi-fares in the last fiscal year.

Five things to know about the flexi-fare scheme

1. Flexi-fares were completely removed for 15 trains, which include the Kalka-New Delhi, New Delhi-Ludhiana and Dibrugarh-Guwahati Shatabdi trains.

2. Flexi-fares will be withdrawn for six months for some trains that have average monthly occupancy of less than 50 per cent.

3. Flexi-fares will be withdrawn during the three months of February, March and August for the 12020 Ranchi-Howrah Shatabdi Express, 12278 Puri-Howrah Shatabdi Express and 12453 Ranchi-New Delhi Rajdhani Express.

4. Flexi-fares have been withdrawn for a fortnight from 15 March 2019 to 31 March 2019 on experimental basis for the 12041 Howrah-New Jalpaiguri Shatabdi Express and 12042 New Jalpaiguri-Howrah Shatabdi Express.

5. It has also been decided to reduce the cap from 1.5 to 1.4 times the base fare.

The flexi-fare scheme was introduced by the railways in 2016 for the 142 ‘premium trains’ such as Shatabdi, Rajdhani and Duronto. In this dynamic pricing system, the base fare increases by 10% with every 10% of berths sold, with a limit set at 1.5 times the original price. The scheme was applicable to all classes, except AC first class and executive class.

Also Read: Tickets of many Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Duronto trains get ‘cheaper’. Full list here

Shatabdi and Duronto trains from which flexi-fare scheme will be removed

1. Shatabdi Kalka-New Delhi Shatabdi

2. Shatabdi Kalka-New Delhi Shatabdi

3. Shatabdi New Delhi-Ludhiana Shatabdi

4. Shatabdi Ludhiana-New Delhi Shatabdi

5. Shatabdi Moga(Ludhiana)-New Delhi Shatabdi

6. Shatabdi New Delhi-Moga(Ludhiana) Shatabdi

7. Shatabdi New Delhi-Bhatinda Shatabdi

8. Shatabdi Bhatinda-New Delhi Shatabdi

9. Shatabdi Guwahati-Dibrugarh Shatabdi

10. Shatabdi Dibrugarh-Guwahati Shatabdi

11. Shatabdi Naharlagun-Guwahati Shatabdi

12. Shatabdi Guwahati-Naharlagun Shatabdi

13. Shatabdi Howrah-Puri Shatabdi

14. Duronto Chennai-Madurai Duronto

15. Duronto Madurai-Chennai Duronto

Shatabdi, Rajdhani, and Duronto trains from which flexi-fare scheme will be removed in lean period

1. Kalka Shatabdi

2. Amritsar Shatabdi

3. Ajmer Shatabdi

4. Dehradun Shatabdi

5. Shatabdi Express (12020)

6. Shatabdi EXP (12025)

7. Pune Shatabdi

8. Swarna Shatabdi (12030)

9. Amritsar Shatabdi (12031)

10. Amritsar Shatabdi (12032)

11. Kathgodam-New Delhi Shatabdi Express (12039)

12. Shatabdi Express (12041)

13. New Jalpaiguri-Howrah Shatabdi Express (12042)

14. New Delhi-Chandigarh Shatabdi Express(12045)

15. Chandigarh-New Delhi Shatabdi Express (12046)

16. Duronto Express (12213)

17. Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Yesvantpur AC Duronto Express (12214)

18. Mumbai Lokmanya Tilak Terminus-Secunderabad AC Duronto Express (12219)

19. Mumbai Lokmanya Tilak Terminus-Ernakulam AC Duronto Express(12223)

20. Ernakulam - Mumbai Lokmanya Tilak Terminus AC Duronto Express (12224)

21. Indore Duronto

22. Mumbai Duronto

23. Jaipur Duronto

24. Jaipur - Mumbai Central AC Duronto Express (12240)

25. Shatabdi EXP (12243)

26. Shatabdi EXP (12244)

27. Shatabdi Express (12278)

28. Rajdhani EXP (12437)

29. Bilaspur - New Delhi Rajdhani Express(12441)

30. Bilaspur Rajdhani (12442)

31. Ranchi - New Delhi Rajdhani Express (12453)

32. H Nizamuddin-Madgaon Rajdhani Express (22414)