Congress expels three rebels on eve of assembly elections

Congress expels three rebels on eve of assembly elections

Jaipur: The Congress on Wednesday expelled three rebel leaders in Rajasthan on the eve of Assembly polls.

“Disciplinary action in line with AICC directives was taken against Harchand Singh Siddu and Sandeep Rathore for campaigning against party candidate in Suratgarh constituency," Pradesh Congress Committee incharge Mumtaz Masih said.

Click here to watch video

/Content/Videos/2008-12-04/0312_C P Joshi Tic-Tac_MINT_TV.flvd6a4784a-c144-11dd-8a99-000b5dabf613.flvAction has been taken against Ganpat Lal Menaria for contesting against a party candidate in Vallabnagar constituency.

Meanwhile, even as Rajasthan votes on Thursday, BJP chief ministerial candidate Vasundhara Raje’s constituency Jhalarapatan and Sardarpura, from where Congress leader and her predecessor Ashok Gehlot is in the fray, are in the spotlight.

BJP is hoping Raje will win in Jhalarapatan, which has an electorate of 1.73 lakh this time too but with a bigger margin.

Raje, who was central minister in the Vajpayee government and represented Jhalawar Lok Sabha as BJP MP in Parliament, won from the assembly seat against Congress Ram Pilot by a margin of 17,375 votes in the 2003 Assembly polls.

Also See Photo Essay | Voice of Rajasthan (Part I)

Photo Essay | Voice of Rajasthan (Part II)

Whereas Gehlot, who was also a Union Minister in the Rajiv Gandhi and Narasimha Rao government, won the last two assembly polls in 1998 and 2003 against BJP candidates by a much impressive margin of 49,280 and 18,991 votes respectively from Sardarpura seat.

Also See Previous Photo Essays

This time Raje is pitted against Mohan Lal Rathore of Congress who represented Jhalarapatan seat in assembly polls of 1998. Rathore is banking on 63,564 new voters covered after the delimitation process but the chief minister’s development plank and setting up of a private medical and engineering college, along with a Kalisindh thermal power unit in the area might go in her favour, political observers say.

Gehlot is locking horns with a fellow Mali community member and BJP candidate Rajendra Gehlot who had won Sardarpura seat in 1990 and 1993 assembly polls.

Video by Ruhi Tewari