Home / Politics / Policy /  28% voter turnout in Anantnag amid poll violence

Srinagar: At least 24 security personnel were injured in clashes during polling for Anantnag Lok Sabha seat in Jammu and Kashmir on Thursday, which recorded a voter turnout of 28%.

“The tentative voter turnout for Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency is 28% which is slightly up from 27% recorded in 2009 polls," Umang Narula, chief electoral officer of Jammu and Kashmir, told reporters in Srinagar.

Narula said the voter turnout figures might increase as last reports from some of the polling stations were yet to be received. He said Anantnag district recorded the highest 37.76% followed by Kulgam at 36.68%, Shopian 20.43% while Pulwama recorded just 6.32%.

Migrant voters of the constituency turned out in higher numbers than the average with around 40% of them cast their votes at polling stations set up in Jammu, Udhampur and Delhi, Narula said.

Political killings ahead of the elections in Tral and Awantipora areas of Anantnag constituency could have resulted in lower voter turnout in Pulwama district.

“Over all the poll percentage and the number of voters who have exercised their franchise has increased," Narula said.

Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency, comprising 16 assembly segments, had 13.01 lakh voters including 6.15 lakh female voters. The election authorities had set up 1,615 polling stations at 1,128 locations in the constituency, Narula said, adding that barring few incidents of stone pelting, polling was largely peaceful.

Inspector General of Police (Kashmir) A.G. Mir said that 12 police personnel and an equal number of CRPF personnel were injured in stone-pelting incidents at several places in the constituency. He said some arrests have been made in connection with these incidents.

Although 12 candidates were in the fray from this seat, it was expected to be a direct contest fight between ruling National Conference (NC) candidate Mehboob Beg and opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) president Mehbooba Mufti.

Of the 16 Assembly segments, the PDP MLAs represent 12, the Congress two and the National Conference (NC) and the CPM one each.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout