Trinamool Congress heading for massive win in West Bengal

Trinamool Congress heading for massive win in West Bengal

Kolkata: The Trinamool Congress was heading for a landslide win on Friday bagging 42 of the 294 seats and leading in 144 demolishing the 34-year-old Left citadel in West Bengal in the assembly elections.

Trinamool’s ally Congress won 12 seats and was leading in 30.

Also Read | Assembly Polls 2011 ( Full coverage )

Assembly Polls Snippets ( Blogs )

As per the trends, the Trinamool Congress could form the ministry on its own as the magic figure for government formation is 148.

Left Front major, CPI(M) has so far bagged 13 seats and was ahead in 24.

LF partner, Forward Bloc won three seats and was ahead in nine, while RSP and CPI, two other constituents were leading in 6 and 3 seats respectively. Independents were leading in two and others in six.

Majors Left Front figures, including chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, finance minister Ashim Dasgupta, Industry minister Nirupam Sen, Housing minister Goutam Deb and IT minister Debesh Das were trailing.

Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee dedicated her party’s stupendous victory to ‘Ma, Mati, Manush’ drawing parallels with the freedom struggle and promised good governance, while saying that there would be an end to “autocracy and atrocities".

“Not only in Bengal and India, people across the world were waiting for this verdict and we express our gratitude to all of them," Banerjee said.

Accepting the poll verdict, a joint statement by the chief minister and Left Front chairman, Biman Bose described the debacle as ‘unexpected’.

They, however, said the Left would play the role of a responsible and constructive opposition in the assembly.

They would also ascertain the reasons for the defeat of the Left Front, they said.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who was in Afghanistan and Congress president Sonia Gandhi sent congratulatory messages to the Trinamool Congress chief as also Bangladesh premier Sheikh Hasina.


Buddhadeb resigns

Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee on Friday stepped down as West Bengal chief minister following the Left Front’s drubbing in the Assembly election at the hands of the Trinamool Congress-Congress combine that saw the collapse of the 34-year-old red bastion.

Bhattacharjee’s resignation brought to an end the longest communist rule in India since 1977.

Succumbing to the Mamata wave, Bhattcharjee himself trailed much behind Manish Gupta, state’s former chief secretary, in his Jadavpur constituency.

The 66-year-old CPI(M) politburo member, who faced the toughest electoral battle in his political career, succumbed to the ‘strong winds of change’ and failed to steer the Front to victory for the eighth time in a row in West Bengal.

Known to live a spartan life, the dhoti-kurta clad Bengali ‘Bhadralok’ with a clean image, Bhattacharjee, a connoisseur of art and music, never moved out of his two-room government flat on Palm Avenue in south Kolkata during his tenure as chief minister.

Bhattacharjee took over from his mentor Jyoti Basu when the latter finally decided to step down as the country’s longest serving chief minister on health grounds in November 2000, ahead of the assembly elections in 2001 and led the LF to victory. In 1999, he was deputy chief minister of the state.


Gogoi grateful for peoples faith in Congress

Guwahati: Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi expressed gratitude to the people of the state for reposing their confidence in the Congress.

“We were sure of forming the government again as very few states in the country had introduced so many schemes for the welfare of common people," Gogoi told reporters here.

“The people were by and large satisfied with our work and mostly women, youths and the educated people were enthusiastic and supported us to win," he said.

Asked about the ‘mantra’ for his party’s victory for the third consecutive term under him, the chief minister replied, “there is no mantra. People understood our commitment and sincerity to work for them".

“Inspite of propaganda by the opposition parties and some organizations such as the Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS), the people were not swayed but remained faithful to our commitment to them, Gogoi said.

“We are very grateful to the people for believing in us and not the opposition propaganda", he added.

The chief minister expressed the hope that the peace talks with the ULFA and other militant outfits NDFB, KLNLF, DHD-J, etc., would be resolved through negotiations during the next five years.

On the issue of corruption, Gogoi said, “I am not denying that there is corruption but we need to tackle the situation".


Jaya set to wrest power in a landslide win in TN

Chennai: Tamil Nadu gave an overwhelming mandate to opposition AIADMK combine which is set to win over 190 seats in the 234-member Assembly, proving psephologists wrong yet again.

Contrary to poll surveys, which predicted a neck-and-neck race, the AIADMK was well set to sweep the polls and form the next government on its own, after a dealing a crushing blow to the DMK.

Conceding defeat, chief minister M. Karunanidhi submitted the resignation of his cabinet to the governor who accepted it and asked him to continue till alternative arrangements were made.

The DMK might end up with 23 seats if the current trends continued, pushing it to the third spot after AIADMK’s ally and actor-politician Vijaykant’s DMDK, poised to win 25 seats.

DMK’s key ally Congress, for the first time in Tamil Nadu’s electoral history, would be reduced to single digit having established a lead only in seven seats.

Most of the leaders of DMK, Congress and PMK were trailing their rivals.

AIADMK tsunami swept all the regions of the state handing a crushing blow to the DMK-Congress combine.

Spiralling prices, power cut, corruption, especially the 2G spectrum scam, and the DMK first family’s “domination" in every sphere seemed to have cost the DMK dearly, giving a rude shock to the ruling party.

The run-up to the elections saw no visible anti-incumbency wave, and the pre-poll surveys and exit polls had predicted a close fight between the two major Dravidian parties, though some had given a slight edge to the AIADMK.

Ever since the 1989 Assembly elections, Tamil Nadu had been witnessing change of guard alternately and this election was no exception.