Home >Politics >Policy >Mizoram elections results: Zoramthanga says prohibition on liquor, repairing roads priority

The Election Commission of India today declared the Mizoram election results, which the exit poll results have predicted in favour of Mizo National Front. Mizoram went to polls on 28 November and its election results today will decide if CM Lal Thanhawla of the Congress be able to retain his tenure for the third consecutive time. The northeastern state with a 40-member assembly is the last bastion of the Congress in the region.

Track live updates on assembly election results here.

Congress was not able to hold on to its last bastion in northeast. Since 2014 Congress has lost all the North East states to the NDA.

The top priorities of Zoramthanga:

Since I’m going to form the government now my first priorities will be 3 things—to impose a prohibition on liquor, repair roads & implement Social Economic Development Programme (SEDP) which is our flagship programme: MNF party chief Zoramthanga

■ MNF gets majority in 40-member Mizoram Assembly: EC

MNF gets majority in 40-member Mizoram Assembly, says Election Commission

MNF leading in 26 seats, Congress in 5

The MNF is leading in 26 seats, while Congress is leading in five seats.

Zoramthanga propels MNF back to the centre stage of Mizo politics

The MNF, led by 74-year-old Zoramthanga, propelled back to Mizo politics after a decade in the wilderness as it surged ahead in assembly elections. With the results so decisively in his favour, Zoramthanga seems set to stake claim to the office chief minister.

MNF celebrates after securing 14 seats

MNF has won 14 seats out of 40 & is leading on 9 seats in Mizoram, calling for a celebration outside its office in Aizawl.

■ MNF wins 12 seats

MNF wins 12 seats, Independents win 7 seats in Mizoram. Congress and BJP are leading in six and one seat. MNF is set to stake claim in Mizoram with this lead.

■ MNF leads in 29 seats, Congress in 5

The MNF is leading in 29 seats and Congress in 5. The BJP is leading in one seat and others in five.

■ CM Lal Thanhawla loses Serchhip seat to ZPM’s Lalduhoma

Lal Thanhawla loses Serchhip seat to ZPM’s Lalduhoma by a margin of 283 votes.

■ CM Lal Thanhawla has a marginal lead at home turf

Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has a marginal lead in Serchhip, which is his home turf.

■ CM Lal Thanhawla loses against TJ Lalnuntluanga at Champhai South

Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has lost from Champhai South seat, MNF’s TJ Lalnuntluanga has won

■ BJP makes inroads in Mizoram vote share

The surge in the BJP vote share is key simply because Mizoram is a predominantly Christian state, with almost 90% of the population followers of Christianity. According to vote share numbers put up by the Election Commission of India, the BJP’s vote share currently is 33.7%, a huge jump over the 0.37% vote share it had in 2013.

■ Celebratory scenes in MNF office in Aizawl

Sweets being distributed at Mizo National Front (MNF) office in Aizawl as the party leads in trends for Mizoram election results.

■ CM Lal Thanhawla trailing in Sercchip, Champhai South

CM Lal Thanhawla is trailing in Serchhip and Champhai South in Champhai district, according to the recent trend.

■ MNF leading in 25 seats

The MNF is leading in 25 seats, whereas the Congress is leading in ten. The BJP is leading in one seat and others in three.

■ Early trends show MNF leading in 24 seats

The MNF is leading in 24 seats, whereas the Congress is leading in eight. The BJP is leading in one seat and others in three.

■ MNF leading in 22 seats, Congress leading in eight

Early trends show MNF leading in 22 seats. The Congress is leading in eight seats, whereas the BJP is leading in one.

■ MNF leading in 20 seats

MNF is leading in 20 seats while the Congress is leading six seats. BJP is leading in one seat while others in three. Targets seats are 21.

■ R Lalzirliana leading by 200 votes in Tawi constituency

MNF nominee R Lalzirliana leading by 200 votes against Congress’ Rosiamngheta in Tawi constituency.

■ 21 seats out 40 taken, MNF holds a strong lead in 13 seats

MNF leading in Mizoram with 13 seats, giving a tough fight to Congress which is leading in six seats.

■ MNF prances ahead of Congress in seven seats

MNF opens up an early lead with seven assembly seats. It’s already seeing a change of two seats in comparison to 2013 elections. Congress leads in two seats, while BJP and other parties lead in one each.

Early trends show MNF leads Congress by two seats

MNF currently leads in four assembly seats, while Congress leads in two.

Mizoram has never seen a hung assembly

An exit poll by Republic TV-CVoter shows a hung house in Mizoram, the last bastion of the Congress in the northeast, with an advantage for the opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) in the 40-member House. The CNX - Times Now poll also predicted a hung House with 18 seats for MNF and 16 for Congress and 6 for others. All eyes will obviously be on the ‘Others’ category in case of a hung House.

Counting of votes begins in Mizoram

The counting of votes for Mizoram election results have begun at 13 counting centres in the eight district headquarters.

Mizoram election results: Key candidates, battles

The Congress and the Mizo National Front (MZF) have ruled Mizoram since 1987. The BJP also has set its eyes on the state this time as all other northeastern states are now ruled either by the saffron party or others supported by it. No party in the state has so far been able to form governments thrice in a row since 1987 when Mizoram became a full-fledged state.

A party (or coalition) needs to have the support of 21 MLAs in Mizoram assembly to form the government. The Congress and the MNF fielded candidates in all 40 constituencies, BJP put up 39 candidates and the Zoram People’s Movement contested around 35 seats with its allies.

Key contests in Mizoram include Serchhip—the home turf of five-time Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla. Thanhawla is also contesting from Champhai South.

People’s Representation to Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) chief Vanlalruata is eyeing a debut in the Mizoram assembly. He contested from Serchhip and Aizawl North I seats.

Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) founder Pu Lalduhoma contested against CM Thanhawla in Serchhip. He has also contested from the Aizawl West I seat.

In the 2013 Mizoram elections, the Congress had won 34 seats, while its main opposition, the Mizo National Front (MNF), got five and the Mizoram People’s Conference bagged one seat.

The BJP, which has failed to win a single seat in the Christian majority state despite contesting each election since 1993, is also hoping to win five to seven seats this time.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout