Mumbai: Budget carrier AirAsia India will be shifting its operations to domestic terminal 1 (T1) of Mumbai's Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport from 15th October. At present, AirAsia India flies from international terminal 2 (T2) of the Mumbai airport. "We are pleased to announce that Mumbai will now be our fourth hub in India, and alongside that AirAsia India will shift its operations from Terminal 2 to Terminal 1 from October 15," said Sunil Bhaskaran, managing director and chief executive, AirAsia India.

Mumbai will become AirAsia India's fourth hub in the country after Bengaluru, New Delhi and Kolkata, the airline said in a release. It currently operates to destinations such as Hyderabad, Kochi, New Delhi, Kolkata, Bengaluru and Indore from Mumbai.

Earlier, SpiceJet shifted its entire Mumbai operations to Terminal 2 of the city's Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport from 22nd September 2019. The consolidation of operations will help SpiceJet efficiently service thousands of passengers travelling with SpiceJet to and from Mumbai Airport across both its domestic and international networks by consolidating operations under one terminal, the budget carrier had noted.

In Delhi too, SpiceJet and IndiGo have started domestic operations from Terminal 3 of Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport from 5th September. This was done in order to enhance the overall infrastructure of Terminal (T2), which is expected to undergo major expansion and renovation to accommodate more passengers with the rising traffic.

In other news, AirAsia India will start a daily flight on the Delhi-Jaipur route from October 20. The flight will depart daily from Delhi airport at 10.35 am and arrive in Jaipur airport at 11.45 am. The return flight will depart daily at 12.15 pm from Jaipur and arrive at 1.25 pm at Delhi airport.

AirAsia India, which is is a joint venture between Tata Sons Limited and AirAsia Investment Limited, commenced operations on June 12, 2014, and currently flies to 20 destinations across India with a fleet of 23 A320 aircraft.