Budget carriers Indigo and SpiceJet are set to commence domestic operations from Terminal 3 (T3) of Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport with effect from 5 September. "While Indigo would shift a portion of its operations from T2 to T3, SpiceJet would shift all of its domestic flights, operating from T2 to T3," the GMR-led Delhi International Airport Ltd (DIAL) said in a statement.

This decision has been taken by DIAL to enhance the overall infrastructure of T2, which is expected to undergo major expansion and renovation to accommodate more passengers with the rising traffic.

Post the shift, SpiceJet flights—SG 8000 to SG 8999 and IndiGo flights—6E 5000 to 6E 5999, will operate out of T3 while IndiGo flights—6E 2000 to 6E 2999—will operate from T2.

SpceJet flights to and from Ahmedabad, Aurangabad, Bengaluru, Coimbatore, Goa, Gorakhpur, Guwahati, Jammu, Jharsuguda, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Mangalore, Patna, Pune, Srinagar, Surat, Thiruvananthapuram and Visakhapatnam will arrive at and depart from T3 of IGI Airport, the carrier mentioned on its site.

No-frills carrier SpiceJet said, "All the flights operating from Terminal 3 will have 4-digit flight numbers starting with the numeric ‘8’." The flight numbers will be between SG 8000 and SG 8999.

To avoid any confusion or last moment chaos, SpiceJet has sent emails and SMS notifications, well in advance informing passengers of this move. The airline has also made special arrangements for passengers to be dropped at T3 from the T2 departure terminal.

The airport operator said it has placed bilingual directional and informative signage at all strategic locations in and around the three terminals of the airport. It added that there will be deployment of dedicated staff members at the T2 and T3 terminals and shuttle buses will be made available for passengers in need.

At present, GoAir and SpiceJet and IndiGo operate their domestic flights from T2, while Air India, Vistara and AirAsia India operate out of T3.

SpiceJet will also shift its entire Mumbai operations to Terminal 2 of the city's Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport effective 1 October 2019, the airline said.