New Delhi: Payment technology company Visa on Wednesday announced that it has signed up world badminton champion Pusarla Venkata Sindhu (PV Sindhu) as its brand ambassador for two years. Besides promoting the brand through advertising campaigns, Sindhu has also become an athlete member of Team Visa for the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

T.R. Ramachandran, group country manager, Visa India and South Asia said, “Sports is something that unites citizens across the globe just the way we process payments the world over. We strongly believe in being there for athletes who are bringing the world closer and display breakthrough performances irrespective of challenges. Team Visa is our initiative to enable these endeavors to support competitive athletes. While PV Sindhu has already set the gold standard in Indian sports, we are excited to partner with her as she gears up for the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020."

Team Visa is the company's global athlete support program for assisting athletes who aspire to the Olympic and Paralympic podiums. Team Visa athletes are selected basis their expected demonstration of strong competitive performance at the Olympic and Paralympic Games, regardless of nationality and background. Visa will provide these athletes with tools and resources including funding support and financial literacy training. Since the program began in 2000, Team Visa has supported over 400 Olympic and Paralympic athletes and hopefuls from around the world.

Visa has been supporting the Olympic Games as a worldwide sponsor since 1986. It has signed a contract as the exclusive payment technology partner through 2032. It is currently the only payment brand available at Olympic venues.

PV Sindhu is India’s first ever world champion in badminton, who struck gold at the 2019 World Championships. Having made her international debut in 2009, she rose to a career high ranking of no. 2 in April 2017. Over the course of her career, Sindhu has won medals at numerous tournaments including a silver medal at the 2016. Sindhu is the recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, and India's fourth highest civilian award, the Padma Shri.