NEW DELHI : The Election Commission of India will announce the dates for Delhi Assembly elections today. The poll watchdog has convened a press conference at 3.30 pm to announce the election schedule. The term of the 70-member Delhi Assembly is ending on February 22 and a new House has to be constituted before that.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) came to power in Delhi in February 2015 sweeping 67 of the 70 Assembly seats. Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal now faces a triangular fight with the BJP and AAP. The BJP is riding high on the Modi government's achievements, while AAP is confident of sailing through in the elections on the back of work done by the Delhi government.

The Congress, which ruled the state for 15 years, before being ousted by AAP, is likely to announce its candidate list on January 10.

The BJP, which is trying to come back to power in Delhi after over two decades, is also likely to announce its chief ministerial candidates soon. The names of senior Delhi BJP leaders including party's city unit president Manoj Tiwari, former Union minister Vijay Goel, Leader of Opposition Vijender Gupta, among others, have been doing the rounds as possible candidates for the post of chief minister, if the party wins the Assembly polls.