Home >Elections 2019 >Assembly Elections 2019 >Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Triangular contest among AAP, BJP and Congress
Aam Aadmi Party is hoping to repeat its stellar performance of the last assembly polls when it won 67 of the 70 seats. Photo: HT
Aam Aadmi Party is hoping to repeat its stellar performance of the last assembly polls when it won 67 of the 70 seats. Photo: HT

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Triangular contest among AAP, BJP and Congress

  • Polling began across all Assembly segments in the national capital today morning
  • The voting will continue till 6 pm in the evening

New Delhi: The polling for the 70-member Delhi Assembly got underway on Saturday morning, an election that saw the ruling AAP, opposition BJP and the Congress engaged in a bitterly fought high-octane campaign. Counting of votes will take place on Tuesday. The Aam Aadmi Party is hoping to repeat its stellar performance of the last assembly polls when it won 67 of the 70 seats.

Over 1.47 crore people are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls that will decide the fate of 672 candidates. The polling began at 8 am and will end at 6 pm, an official said.

Security forces kept a tight watch across the 70 constituencies, with police and paramilitary personnel keeping an "extra vigil" in sensitive areas like Shaheen Bagh, Jamia Nagar and Seelampuri.

There are over 81 lakh male voters, 66.80 lakh female voters, and 869 third-gender voters, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh has said.

Around 2.33 lakh voters are in the age group of 18-19, 2.04 lakh voters are senior citizens aged 80, while there are 11,608 service voters, according to officials.

Prominent candidates in the fray include Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, his deputy Manish Sisodia, Atishi and Raghav Chadha of the AAP; four former mayors -- Azad Singh, Yogender Chandolia, Ravinder Gupta and Khushi Ram -- of the BJP; and Shivani Chopra, daughter of Delhi Congress president Subhash Chopra.

Here are all the updates of Delhi Assembly Elections 2020:

Delhi polls: 27.48% voter turnout till 2 pm

Delhi has recorded an estimated 27.48% peaceful voter turnout till 2 pm on Saturday.

The estimated turnout for North East Delhi till 2 p.m. was 34.82%, according to the Election Commission's Voter Turnout App. Area-wise, East Delhi reported 31.31% polling, North West Delhi 28.78%, West 26.77%, South 26.71%, South West 23.25% and Central 25.36% turnout, the app said.

President Ram Nath Kovind casts vote

President Ram Nath Kovind and his wife Savita Kovind cast their votes at a polling booth in Dr Rajendra Prasad Kendriya Vidyalaya of New Delhi.

Vote for good change: Ram Madhav

BJP national secretary Ram Madhav on Saturday appealed to Delhi voters to come out in large numbers and vote for a "good" change.

"I appeal to the people of Delhi to come out and vote for good change. The voting percentage is always around 60 per cent. There is always scope more voting percentage," Madhav told ANI.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: 5.64% voter turnout till 10 am

An estimated 5.64% of 1.47 crore eligible voters have exercised their franchise till 10 a.m. on Saturday in the election for 70 Delhi Assembly seats.

Polling began at 8 a.m. amid tight security arrangements with long queues seen in several polling stations to seal the fate of 672 candidates in the fray to elect a new government. The estimated turnout for North West Delhi till 10 a.m. was 5.80%, according to the Voter Turnout App.

While North East Delhi recorded 5.19%, South 6.71%, Central 3.95%, East 4.94% and West 4.61%, the app said, adding south west Delhi registered zero per cent turnout. Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Union ministers Harsh Vardhan and S. Jaishankar were among various MPs, including controversial BJP leader Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, who cast their votes early morning along with their families.

Arvind Kejriwal casts his vote

Chief Minister and AAP national convener Arvind Kejriwal, who is eyeing to repeat his party's 2015 assembly performance, voted at the Rajpura Transport Authority polling station in the Civil Lines area.

Kejriwal, who is contesting the polls from the New Delhi seat, was accompanied by his wife Sunita and son Pulkit. Before leaving for voting, he sought his parents blessings.

Arvind Kejriwal urges all to vote: 'Please go to cast vote'

"Please go to cast vote. A special appeal to all the women - As your shoulder the responsibility at home, likewise, the responsibility of the country and Delhi is on your shoulders," Kejirwal tweeted.

"All of you women do cast your vote and take along men with you. Do discuss with men about voting for whom will be right," the chief minister added.

'Pehle Matdan, Phir Jalpan', says J P Nadda

BJP president J P Nadda also appealed to all the voters to vote in large numbers.

"Each vote of you is important for the unity and integrity of the country and holistic development of Delhi. Your vote only will be script the golden future of Delhi. 'Pehle Matdan, Phir Jalpan'. Jai Hind," Nadda tweeted.

Strict security at Shaheen Bagh

There are 13,750 polling booths, besides one auxiliary booth, located at 2,689 locations across Delhi.

"As far as critical polling stations are concerned, there are 516 locations and 3,704 booths in that category," Singh said.

Besides police security, polling stations falling in the "critical category" have got paramilitary cover. Activities at such stations are being monitored through webcasting, officials said.

All five polling stations in Shaheen Bagh, the epicentre of massive protests against the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, are under critical category.

This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperMint is now on Telegram. Join Mint channel in your Telegram and stay updated with the latest business news.

Edit Profile
My Reads Redeem a Gift Card Logout