Active Stocks
Sat Mar 02 2024 12:49:58
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 155.15 3.43%
  1. HDFC Bank share price
  2. 1,430.35 -0.06%
  1. State Bank Of India share price
  2. 773.05 0.49%
  1. Tata Motors share price
  2. 988.40 1.15%
  1. Wipro share price
  2. 522.65 0.67%
Business News/ Elections 2019 / Assembly Elections 2019/  Delhi Exit Poll Results 2020: Kejriwal predicted to win, BJP seat share may increase

Delhi Exit Poll Results 2020: Kejriwal predicted to win, BJP seat share may increase

If exit poll results are to be believed, Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP will make an easy hat-trick this Assembly election
  • BJP is projected to improve its seat tally in the Delhi Assembly while the Congress might fare as poorly as last time
  • Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal with deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia during campaigning for Delhi Assembly elections. (PTI)Premium
    Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal with deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia during campaigning for Delhi Assembly elections. (PTI)

    NEW DELHI : After voting for the Delhi Assembly elections ended in the evening today, exit poll results are now being released. If Arvind Kejriwal wins the election this year, it would be a hat-trick for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) which had managed to win 67 out of 70 seats in the 2015 polls. The BJP, which secured all the seven Lok Sabha seats in the national capital during the 2019 general election, is hoping to make a comeback after 20 years. The saffron party had won only 3 seats in 2015 while the Congress had none. Counting of votes will be held on Tuesday, February 11.

    Delhi Exit Polls 2020 updates:

    • AAP has scored consistently among 11 major demographics, according to IANS-CVoter poll
    • According to IANS-C-Voter Exit Poll, by specifically focusing on women, backward classes, minorities and people below the poverty line, AAP cornered 50.6% of votes polled for the 70-member Delhi legislative Assembly.
    • AAP leader and deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia said his party is winning by a huge margin.
    • Senior BJP leader and Home Minister Amit Shah has called a closed-door meeting tonight of all the seven MPs of the party from Delhi and key central ministers, including Piyush Goyal. Party chief J.P. Nadda is also likely to attend the meeting.
    • BJP leader Manoj Tiwari said all exit poll results will fail and the saffron party will form the government with 48 seats.
    • IANS-CVoter Exit Poll: AAP's vote share is projected to come down to 50.4% in 2020.
    • India Today exit poll numbers claim that AAP is set for a landslide victory in Delhi while Congress is unlikely to win even a single seat.
    • India Today exit poll: APP likely to win 59-68 seats, BJP 2-11 seats. Congress has been projected to win zero seats.
    • According to the IANS-CVoter exit poll, the BJP is likely to get anything between 1 and 3 seats in Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, New Delhi, West Delhi and North-East Delhi. The saffron party is likely to win anything between zero and 2 seats from North-West Delhi and South Delhi.
    • The Congress is expected to win from Chandni Chowk and one seat each from East Delhi, North East Delhi and South Delhi, according to IANS-CVoter exit poll survey results.
    • Delhi records voter turnout of 57.06% at 6 pm but the final voting percentage will be known later on.
    • Neta-India News exit poll results: AAP: 53-57 seats, BJP: 11-17, Congress: 0-2 seats.
    • ABP-CVoter exit poll result: AAP is likely to win 49-63 seats, BJP 5-19 seats while the Congress 0-4 seats.
    • 3 minority-dominated seats of Mustafabad, Matia Mahal and Seelampur recorded the highest voter turnout in Delhi Assembly elections today.
    • Four exit polls -- Times Now-Ipsos, Republic-Jan ki Baat, TV9 Bharatvarsh-Cicero and NewsX -- have predicted a clear win for AAP.
    • Most exit poll results are consistent that the Congress, which had won zero seats in the last Assembly elections, might fare poorly this time too.
    • TV9 Bharatvarsh-Cicero exit poll predicts 54 seats for AAP, 15 for BJP and only one for the Congress.
    • India Today Exit Poll: AAP will win 23-28 seats in west, north-west, north-east Delhi. BJP projected to win 2-7 seats in these three areas.
    • India Today Exit Poll: AAP projected to sweep West Delhi, North West Delhi with 16-19 seats.
    • An exit poll by Sudarshan News claims that the BJP will win anywhere in between 40-45 seats.
    • In the 70-member Delhi Assembly, 36 is the winning mark.
    • Delhi has seen considerably high turnout over the last two assembly elections including in 2013 it was 65.63%.
    • Voter turnout remained low across all districts with the exception of North East Delhi which crossed the 60% mark. New Delhi district, which includes chief minister Arvind Kejriwal's New Delhi assembly constituency, was one of the lowest at nearly 52.51% as of 6.30 pm.
    • NewsX Exit Poll: AAP will win 50-56 seats, BJP 10-14 seats while the Congress will fail to open account.
    • So far three exit poll results show Arvind Kejriwal would remain chief minister.
    • Republic-Jan Ki Baat exit polls show that the AAP could win 48-64 seats, BJP 9-21 seats and the Congress might win just 1 seat.
    • BJP and allies are seen as winning 26 seats in Delhi by Times Now-IPSOS.
    • According to Times Now-IPSOS, AAP will win 44 seats in Delhi.
    • Over 54% of voters cast their ballot by 6 pm.
    • Both the Congress and the BJP shared seats with their allies this time.
    • Arvind Kejriwal's AAP had kept is focus on the development work done by the government in the last five years.
    • Amit Shah had campaigned in 60 out of 70 constituencies in Delhi.
    • For the BJP, Shaheen Bagh, the epicentre of anti-CAA protest in southeast Delhi, was its main poll plank in Delhi elections.
    • Out of the total 672 candidates in the fray in these Assembly polls, 79 are women -- over 11 per cent of the total contestants.
    • Delhi witnessed a shrill and often polarised election campaign this season when mention of "Shaheen Bagh", "Biryani" to objectionable jibes like "desh ke gaddaro ko, goli maaro s..lo ko" -- all were used.
    • If re-elected, it will be a hat-trick for Arvind Kejriwal this time.
    • Delhi registered an overall turnout of 54.24% till 5 pm.
    • In the 2015 Delhi assembly elections, APP had won 67 of 70 seats but in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP bagged all the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi.
    • Polling for Delhi assembly elections begin at 8 am and ended at 6 pm.
    • The Election Commission has imposed a ban on publishing any exit poll during assembly elections in Delhi today till 6.30 pm.

    Unlock a world of Benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time stock tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed – it's all here, just a click away! Login Now!

    Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Check all the latest action on Budget 2024 here. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
    More Less
    Published: 08 Feb 2020, 06:06 PM IST
    Next Story footLogo
    Recommended For You
    Switch to the Mint app for fast and personalized news - Get App