Bengaluru: Senior Congress leader and party incharge for Maharashtra Mallikarjun Kharge on Thursday said the results of the assembly elections were ‘good’ considering the problems given by the government.

“I feel that this is a good result itself considering the problems we faced, including those given by the government. In spite of the government giving us problems, there are people who have stood by us," he said in Bengaluru.

As it stands, the BJP is leading in 103 seats while its alliance partner, Shiv Sena, is leading in 62 constituencies. The Congress is leading in 40 seats, while its alliance partner, the Nationalist Congress Party, is leading in 52 seats out of the total 288 seats in the state, according to data by the Election Commission.

Current trends indicate that the Devendra Fadnavis-led BJP-Shiv Sena is likely to retain power in Maharashtra for another term.

Kharge, who had to battle several challenges, including dissent within his own party, said he was happy how the Congress was able to mobilise support in such a short time.

The Congress had allied with Sharad Pawar-led NCP to take on Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led BJP in Maharashtra and Haryana as well as other bypolls across the country.

Kharge said the results in many constituencies were still awaited.

However, he said that since the BJP does not have a clear majority in Haryana, Opposition parties can take a decision to come together and stake claim to form the government.

Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar-led BJP is leading in 35 seats, while the Congress is leading in 35 seats. The Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) is leading in 10 seats while independent candidates are leading in seven seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is leading in one seat, while the Indian National Lok Dal is leading in two out of the total 90 seats in the state.

“The BJP does not have a clear majority in Haryana. If all Opposition parties come together, they can form the government. They are yet to take a decision in Haryana," Kharge said.

Also read: Catch all the live updates of the Maharashtra assembly election results 2019

Also read: Catch all the live updates of the Haryana assembly election results 2019

My Reads Logout