Home / Elections / Assembly Elections /  Himanta Biswa Sarma takes oath as the Chief Minister of Assam

Himanta Biswa Sarma has taken oath as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam. He was administered the oath by Governor Jagdish Mukhi. BJP national president JP Nadda and other leaders were also present at the ceremony.

Several Chief Ministers of northeastern states attended the swearing-in ceremony of Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Those present included Chief Minister of Tripura Biplab Deb, Meghalaya's Conrad Sangma, Manipur's M N Biren Singh, and Nagaland's Neiphiu Rio. Apart from that, the former state Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal was also present.

Himanta Biswa was elected unanimously by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Legislature Party, which met in Guwahati on Sunday.

The newly-elected Chief Minister began his day by offering prayers at Doul Gobinda Temple and Kamakhya Temple and sought the blessings of the people of his constituency Jalukbari. After that, he headed for the swearing-in ceremony.

Known to have played a pivotal role in the BJP's growing footprint in the Northeast, Sarma left the Congress in 2015 despite being close to Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi as he felt sidelined.

The minister's popularity has been key in the National Democratic Alliance's victory in the Assembly polls in Assam with the alliance returning to power overcoming the stiff challenge posed by the Congress-led alliance.

BJP-led NDA secured a comfortable majority in Assam winning 75 seats of the total 126 constituencies. While BJP secured 60 seats, about 33 per cent, its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People's Party, Liberal (UPPL) bagged nine and six seats respectively.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
Get alerts on WhatsApp
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout