Active Stocks
Thu Feb 29 2024 15:49:54
  1. Kotak Mahindra Bank share price
  2. 1,690.80 0.43%
  1. Axis Bank share price
  2. 1,075.70 0.10%
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 140.90 0.11%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 282.55 1.07%
  1. ITC share price
  2. 406.50 -0.51%
Business News/ Elections / Assembly Elections/  Kamareddy, Telangana Election Results 2023: BJP's KVR Reddy wins with majority vote share, defeats KCR

Kamareddy, Telangana Election Results 2023: BJP's KVR Reddy wins with majority vote share, defeats KCR

Kamareddy, Telangana Election Results 2023: BJP's KVR Reddy has emerged victorious from Kamareddy, successfully defeating Congress' Revanth Reddy and BRS' K. Chandrashekar Rao.

Kamareddy, Telangana Election Results 2023 LIVE: Revanth Reddy with AICC vice president Rahul Gandhi. He is currently leading in Kamareddy constituency.Premium
Kamareddy, Telangana Election Results 2023 LIVE: Revanth Reddy with AICC vice president Rahul Gandhi. He is currently leading in Kamareddy constituency.

Kamareddy, Telangana Election Results 2023: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP's) K Venkata Ramana Reddy won in the Kamareddy constituency, successfully defeating Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao (of BRS) and Telangana Congress chief Revanth Reddy. According to election commission data, BJP's KVR Reddy secured 66,652 votes and led the polls with a margin of 6,741 votes against KCR of BRS and Congress' Revanth Reddy.

The Kamareddy assembly constituency had become the hotspot of this election in Telangana, as it is witnessing a triangle battle among Telangana Chief Minister and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) supremo K Chandrashekar Rao, his challenger Congress state unit chief, and the BJP's K Venkata Ramana Reddy. 

This time, CM K Chandrashekar Rao contested from two seats: his original seat, Gajwel, and the Kamareddy. As KCR contested from Kamareddy, his native village Konapur, with its focus on development has come into prominence. 

Telangana Assembly Election Results 2023 Live Updates

Also Read: Gajwel assembly constituency: KCR faces tough contest from former loyalist and Congress CM probable

Kamareddy and KCR connection 

KCR was born on February 17, 1954 in his maternal parent's house located in Konapur village in Bibipet mandal of Kamareddy district. The two-storeyed house was partially submerged due to construction of the Upper Manair Dam in 1950. The house that stands tall in the village was left unused and unkept after KCR's maternal grandparents passed away and his parents shifted to Chintamadaka village in erstwhile Medak district when he was an infant, as reported by PTI.

Also Read: Sircilla, Telangana Election Results 2023 LIVE Updates

This old house, which is now in a dilapidated condition, according to locals, was in the past used as a shelter by some naxals but presently has shrubs growing inside and snakes have taken refuge, as reported by news agency PTI. Returning to his birthplace after 69 years, KCR hopes to establish his 'janma bhumi as karma bhumi'.

There are about 400 houses in the village and locals also take pride in what KCR has done for the development of the village.

Kamareddy, Telangana Election Results 2023 LIVE

Ahead of the polling, Basvaraja, son of the current sarpanch had told PTI, "I was told in my childhood that KCR was born in this house. The entire village celebrated when KCR became CM for the first time. Now our dream is being fulfilled as he is contesting from our constituency. There will be more development."

Recently, a primary school was also constructed in Konapur village at personal expense in memory of his paternal grandmother at a cost of 2.50 crore, however, the school could not be inaugurated due to the election code of conduct, Channagur Sayegaud said who is the ex-sarpanch of the Konapur village told PTI. People think this may be his symbolic second birth, KCR seems to be confident that his 'janma bhumi' can never let him down.

Who contested from Kamareddy constituency and won prior to KCR?

Earlier in 2018, Gampa Govardhan from the BRS contested from the Kamareddy constituency and had won. He has been representing the constituency as an MLA since 1994. Reports have also stated that Govardhan was the one who urged KCR to contest from the Kamareddy constituency.

Who is fighting against KCR in Kamareddy constituency?

BJP's Venkata Ramana Reddy has exuded confidence that he is going to win from Kamareddy Assembly Constituency. "I am only looking at them (CM KCR and Revanth Reddy) as TRS and Congress candidates only. They are big people but I am not going to back off from fearing them. A candidate is a candidate in my eyes... KCR was nothing 40 years ago, he became a CM over the journey of years... They became big leaders because their time was right. They should not be considered as geniuses. I am 101 percent sure I will win," Venkata Ramana Reddy said.

Apart from Kamareddy, Revanth Reddy also contested from Kodangal constituency and fighting against BRS candidate Patnam Narender Reddy. Earlier in 2018, Revanth Reddy contested on a Congress ticket but lost to Patnam Narender Reddy. However, in 2019, Revanth Reddy won the Lok Sabha election seat from Malkajgiri.

2018 Telangana Assembly elections:

In 2018, the BRS had won 88 of the 119 seats and had 47.4 percent of the vote share. The Congress came a distant second with just 19 seats. Prior to that, in the 2014 assembly polls in united Andhra Pradesh, the then-incumbent Congress got 25.20 percent votes and BRS (then TRS) got 34 percent in the Telangana area.

What does Exit poll result show?

Most Exit Poll results for the Telangana Assembly Election 2023 predicted a setback for Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao's Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) and an advantage for the Congress. Some have even predicted a neck-and-neck fight between Congress and the ruling BRS in Telangana.



Unlock a world of Benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time stock tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed – it's all here, just a click away! Login Now!

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Check all the latest action on Budget 2024 here. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Published: 03 Dec 2023, 06:28 AM IST
Next Story footLogo
Recommended For You
Switch to the Mint app for fast and personalized news - Get App