Active Stocks
Wed Sep 27 2023 11:01:14
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 127.25 -1.24%
  1. HDFC Bank share price
  2. 1,523.65 -0.91%
  1. NTPC share price
  2. 238.75 -0.6%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 197.75 -0.33%
  1. State Bank Of India share price
  2. 591 -0.56%
Business News/ Elections / Assembly Elections/  Karnataka Election Results 2023: Congress' DK Shivakumar wins from Kanakapura constituency

As the counting of votes for the Karnataka Assembly polls began on Saturday, Congress leader DK Shivakumar wins from the Kanakpura constituency. He won by a margin of 120599 votes.

The Karnataka Congress president collected his certificate and shows a victory sign after winning from the Kanakpura constituency.

Earlier in the day, Shivakumar became emotional while speaking about the support the state has given to his party.

Shivkumar stated, “I assured Sonia Gandhi that I will deliver Karnataka. I want to thank all the leaders in the state, especially Siddaramaiah. It's a collective success. We are all jointly working for the state."

D K Shivakumar, a senior Congress leader, is currently ahead by a margin of 76,408 votes in the Kanakapura constituency.

Meanwhile, Karnataka Congress president DK Shivakumar waves the party flag and shows a thumbs-up sign as the party registers a comfortable victory in the State election.

DK Shivakumar had on Wednesday noted that he did not believe in the exit poll results, which predicted a hung Assembly while putting his party ahead, adding the party will cross the 146-seat mark.

The Kanakapura constituency is a State Assembly constituency situated in the Ramanagaram district and Bengaluru region of Karnataka. It is among the eight assembly seats that belong to the Bangalore Rural Parliamentary/Lok Sabha constituency.

According to available data, the Kanakapura Assembly constituency in Karnataka has a Scheduled Caste population of 18.89% and a Scheduled Tribe population of 1.86%.

According to the Election Commission (EC), Karnataka recorded a 73.19 per cent voter turnout in the May 10 assembly elections, the highest-ever voter turnout in the southern state.

Polling was held across 58,545 polling stations to elect the members in the 224-seat Karnataka Legislative Assembly. The majority mark needed to form the government is 113.

Section 144 has been imposed in capital city of Karnataka, Bengaluru on the eve of vote counting for the crucial assembly elections.

The Bengaluru police has clamped down restrictions on counting day to avoid untoward incidents. Section 144 will be imposed in the entire district from 6 am on Saturday to 12 am on Sunday.

According to reports, there will also be a ban on liquor sale in the Bengaluru police commissionerate region.


"Exciting news! Mint is now on WhatsApp Channels 🚀 Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest financial insights!" Click here!

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Updated: 13 May 2023, 03:59 PM IST
Next Story
Recommended For You
Switch to the Mint app for fast and personalized news - Get App