Home >Elections >Assembly Elections >Mamata Banerjee to take oath as West Bengal CM on 5 May

Incumbent West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will take oath for the third time on 5 May. West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar tweeted that Mamata Banerjee will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of the state at 10.45 am at Raj Bhawan.

The Governor wrote in a tweet, "Taking note of communication @AITCofficial electing @MamataOfficial as leader of 17th WB Legislative Assembly have invited her to take oath of office of Chief Minister on May 5 at 10.45 am at Raj Bhawan. In view of current Covid situation function will be with limited audience."

Meanwhile, briefing the mediapersons, TMC leader Partha Chatterjee said, "The TMC legislators have unanimously elected Mamata Banerjee as the leader. On May 5, she will take oath as the Chief Minister. On May 6, the oath-taking ceremony of the elected legislators will be held. We want Biman Banerjee to become the speaker of the Assembly. Meanwhile, Subrata Mukherjee has been made the protem speaker."

Asked about how can Mamata Banerjee become the chief minister despite losing Nandigram seat, the TMC leader said, "Matter still pending with Election Commission. The constitution provision is also there. There will be no hindrance one can stop Mamata Banerjee to become the Chief Minister."

According to Article 164 (4) of the Indian Constitution, a minister who for any period of six consecutive months is not a member of the legislature of the state shall at the expiration of that period cease to be a minister.

After her defeat in Nandigram, Mamata Banerjee on Monday alleged that the Returning Officer of the Assembly seat had said that he was threatened against recounting of votes.

The chief minister said the oath-taking ceremony will be held on low profile keeping the pandemic in mind. She also informed several party leaders have wished her for the landslide victory.

"Arvind Kejriwal, Uddhav Thackeray, Captain Amarinder Singh, Bhupinder Singh Hooda ji, Rajnikanth ji, Omar Abdullah and others called and wished me. The people of Bengal have stopped the destructive force," Mamata said.

Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress won 213 seats in the just concluded West Bengal assembly elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party garnered 77 seats in the 294-seat state assembly. However, elections for two seats in Murshidabad are postponed due to the demise of candidates due to COVID.

The Mamata Banerjee-led party's main challenger, the BJP, bagged 77 seats, while the ISF, which contested with the symbol of the Rashtriya Secular Majlis Party, and an Independent, managed one seat each.

The TMC had clinched 211 seats in 2016.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout