Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023: Voting to begin at 7 am across 199 seats | All you need to know

The Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023 is scheduled to take place on November 25, with voting starting at 7 am and concluding at 6 pm. A total of 5,26,90,146 voters will decide the fate of 1,862 candidates across 199 seats.

First Published25 Nov 2023
The Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023 will take place on Saturday, November 23.
The Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023 will take place on Saturday, November 23.(Election commission of India/ X)

The Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023 is all set to take place on Saturday, November 25. The voting will begin across 199 of the total 200 seats at 7 am and conclude at 6 pm on Saturday.

Of the total 200 seats, the election in the Karanpur assembly constituency was adjourned after the demise of the Congress candidate from Karanpur. Congress leader Gurmeet Singh Koonar died due to sepsis. He was the sitting MLA from Karanpur.

A total of 5,26,90,146 voters will decide the fate of the candidates at a total of 51,507 polling stations in the assembly constituencies. As many as 1,70,99,334 young voters in the 18-30 age group will vote. This includes 22,61,008 new voters in the 18-19 age group.

Here's all you need to know about the Rajasthan Election 2023:

Number of candidates in fray: As many as 1,862 candidates are in the fray in the Rajasthan poll.

ALSO READ: Don't have voter ID? Here's how you can caste your vote tomorrow

Key parties contesting: The BJP is contesting on all seats, while the Congress has left one seat — Bharatpur — for its ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) like the 2018 elections. Apart from the BJP and Congress, other parties including CPI (M), RLP, Bharat Adiwasi Party, Bhartiya Tribal Party, Aam Aadmi Party, AIMIM are also contesting the elections. Over 40 rebels of both BJP and Congress are also in the fray.

ALSO READ: How can NRIs cast vote, enroll as voters in India

Key Congress candidates: Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, state Congress chief Govind Singh Dotasra, assembly speaker CP Joshi, several ministers including Shanti Dhariwal, BD Kalla, Bhanwar Singh Bhati, Saleh Mohammad, Mamta Bhupesh, Pratap Singh Khachariyawas, Rajendra Yadav, Shakuntla Rawat, Udai Lal Anjana, Mahendrajeet Singh Malviya, Ashok Chandna and former deputy chief minister Sachin Pilot.

ALSO READ: How to know your candidate | Tap here to know

Key BJP candidates: In BJP, leader of opposition Rajendra Rathore, deputy leader of opposition and former state president Satish Poonia, former chief minister Vasundhara Raje, MPs Diya Kumari, Rajyavardhan Rathore, Baba Balaknath and Kirodi Lal Meena are in the fray. Gurjar leader late Kirodi Singh Bainsla's son Vijay Bainsla is also contesting as BJP candidate.

ALSO READ: BJP vs Congress in Rajasthan Election 2023: Why govt has been changing every 5 years; Will it swing this time too?

Key issues: The Congress mainly focused on the works and performance of the Ashok Gehlot government, its schemes and programmes, It also banked on the promise of seven guarantees if the party retains power. Meanwhile, the BJP attacked the Congress on issues such as crime against women, unemployment, appeasement, corruption and paper leak. 

Click here to know in detail about key constituencies, candidates, issues in Rajasthan Election 2023

Rajasthan Election 2018 Result: In 2018, the Congress won 99 seats, while the BJP won 73. Ashok Gehlot became the Rajasthan Chief Minister with the support of BSP MLAs and independents. At present, Congress has 107 MLAs, BJP 70, three Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP), two each of CPI (M) and Bhartiya Tribal Party (BTP), one Rashtriya Lok Dal, 13 are independents and two seats (Udaipur and Karanpur) are vacant.

(With inputs from PTI)

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.MoreLess
HomeElectionsAssembly ElectionsRajasthan Assembly Election 2023: Voting to begin at 7 am across 199 seats | All you need to know

Most Active Stocks

Tata Steel

10:29 AM | 21 JUN 2024
-2.5 (-1.37%)

Bharat Electronics

10:27 AM | 21 JUN 2024
-7.05 (-2.26%)


10:28 AM | 21 JUN 2024
-3.75 (-0.89%)


10:29 AM | 21 JUN 2024
-0.3 (-0.06%)
More Active Stocks

Market Snapshot

  • Top Gainers
  • Top Losers
  • 52 Week High

Railtel Corporation Of India

10:27 AM | 21 JUN 2024
41.8 (9.62%)

Titagarh Rail Systems

10:29 AM | 21 JUN 2024
89.05 (5.96%)

Rail Vikas Nigam

10:28 AM | 21 JUN 2024
22.35 (5.77%)

Honasa Consumer

10:26 AM | 21 JUN 2024
23.5 (5.51%)
More from Top Gainers

Recommended For You

    More Recommendations

    Gold Prices

    • 24K
    • 22K

    Fuel Price

    • Petrol
    • Diesel
    New Delhi
    HomeMarketsPremiumInstant LoanGet App