Home >Elections >Assembly Elections >West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee's cabinet: 43 TMC leaders sworn-in as ministers

43 TMC leaders took oath at the Raj Bhavan in Kolkata in presence of party supremo Mamata Banerjee today. They were sworn in by Governor Gagdeep Dhankhar. After the swearing-in ceremony, Banerjee is also scheduled to hold the first Cabinet meeting later in the day today, during which she is expected to allot portfolios to the ministers.

Three TMC leaders Amit Mitra, Bratya Basu and Rathin Ghosh were sworn-in virtually. Mitra is unwell and both Basu and Ghosh are recuperating from COVID-19.

Other elected legislators like Partha Chatterjee, Subrata Mukherjee, Firhad Hakim and Sadhan Pande also took oath at the ceremony, where Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was present along with other state government officials.

Those who were sworn-in include 24 cabinet ministers and 10 ministers of state (independent charge).

On May 5, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee took charge as the Chief Minister of the state for the third consecutive term.

In a recently concluded Assembly elections, TMC secured a third term with won a thumping majority. On Sunday, the Election commission counted votes for the assembly elections the ruling Trinamool Congress came out winning 213 of the 292 assembly seats.

Though the TMC has won with a thumping majority in the recently held assembly election, Banerjee herself lost from Nandigram and she too needs to win a bypoll.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout