Active Stocks
Mon Mar 04 2024 10:40:47
  1. Tata Steel share price
  2. 153.05 -1.35%
  1. Bharti Airtel share price
  2. 1,145.95 1.36%
  1. NTPC share price
  2. 355.15 3.89%
  1. Power Grid Corporation Of India share price
  2. 294.15 2.53%
  1. Tata Motors share price
  2. 987.90 -0.05%
Business News/ Elections / Assembly Elections/  Who is the chief minister? Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram: What we know so far

Who is the chief minister? Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram: What we know so far

Check what we know so far about the CM faces of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram.

Who’ll be the CM? 5 states are looking for new chief ministersPremium
Who’ll be the CM? 5 states are looking for new chief ministers

The Assembly Election 2023 results were out on December 3 for Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Telangana. Mizoram results were declared on the following day. 

Election Results Live Updates

The Bharatiya Janata Party will remain in power in Madhya Pradesh while it has toppled the Congress governments in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh. The Grand Old Party, on the other hand, managed to claim Telangana. The Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) won 27 out of 40 seats in Mizoram.

Who’ll be Rajasthan CM?

BJP leader Bahadur Singh Koli has said that people in Rajasthan want Vasundhara Raje to become the next chief minister. He has also said that Raje’s popularity will be discussed in the party meeting. However, the fact is that the picture is still unclear. Potential CM candidates in Rajasthan also include Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, ‘Yogi of Rajasthan’ Baba Balak Nath and Diya Kumari among others.

Who’ll be Madhya Pradesh CM?

Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the present CM of the state, has been hailed for the BJP’s victory. Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia said after the results, “Ladli Behna scheme is a game-changer and the full credit for it goes to Shivraj Singh Chouhan." Chouhan, however, has said that he doesn't consider himself as a CM contender.

"I have never been a contender for the Chief Minister post, nor am I today. As a worker, I will always do whatever work the party gives me with my full dedication, capacity and honesty," ANI quoted CM Chouhan as saying.

Also Read: India is becoming ‘Modi-fied’: How political leaders have reacted to BJP’s thumping victory in 3 states

Meanwhile, names like Prahlad Singh Patel - the Minister of State for Food Processing Industries, and BJP National General Secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya - a former mayor of Indore are also doing rounds. Scindia’s name is in the fray as well.

Who’ll be Chhattisgarh CM?

The frontrunner for the top post is Raman Singh. The former Chhattisgarh chief minister is a BJP veteran. Singh has already served as the CM for three terms. Now, the saffron party has to decide if it wants to give him a chance for the fourth term. Arun Sao, considered the BJP’s OBC face in the state, may also be considered if the party decides to choose a new leader.

Who’ll be Telangana CM?

There is less confusion when it comes to Telangana. During the Congress Legislative Party meeting on December 5, Revanth Reddy was unanimously elected to be the next chief minister of Telangana. The swearing-in ceremony of the new Congress government will take place on December 7.

Who’ll be Mizoram CM?

The Zoram People's Movement (ZPM), under the leadership of former IPS Shri Lalduhoma, proved all pre-result speculations wrong by winning 27 out of 40 seats in Mizoram. Lalduhoma, who was once a member of the Congress party, is all set to become the next chief minister of the North-Eastern state. “We are friends of farmers and we have to give them that top priority," Lalduhoma said after winning the election.

(With ANI inputs)

Unlock a world of Benefits! From insightful newsletters to real-time stock tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed – it's all here, just a click away! Login Now!

Sounak Mukhopadhyay
Sounak Mukhopadhyay, who also goes by the name Sounak Mukherjee, has been producing digital news since 2012. He's worked for the International Business Times, The Inquisitr, and Moneycontrol in the past. He's also contributed to Free Press Journal and TheRichest with feature articles. He covers news for a wide range of subjects including business, finance, economy, politics and sports. Before working with digital news publications, he worked as a freelance content writer.
Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Check all the latest action on Budget 2024 here. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Published: 06 Dec 2023, 09:55 AM IST
Next Story footLogo
Recommended For You
Switch to the Mint app for fast and personalized news - Get App