Home >Elections 2019 >Lok Sabha Elections 2019 >AAP releases manifesto, Delhi CM Kejriwal vows to fight for full statehood

New Delhi: With Delhi set to cast its vote on 12 May, in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections, Aam Aadmi Party National convenor and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal released the party’s manifesto, on Thursday, with other senior party leaders Gopal Rai and Manish Sisodia in attendance.

While the party’s major poll plank has been the demand for full statehood for Delhi, Kejriwal stated that it was imperative for the national capital to be granted that status in order for all state machinery to work independent of the Centre’s intervention.

“All states have full statehood and there the people can choose a government which works for them. All seven seats in Delhi will play a vital role in these elections and if Delhi gets full statehood, then the women will be safer, there will be jobs, the children will have guaranteed college education and the anti corruption branch will be under us and there will be no corruption," Kejriwal said.

The Delhi chief minister also highlighted the fact that the party would ensure a reservation of 85% in Delhi government jobs as well as Delhi colleges for the natives of Delhi seeking employment and college education in the city.

Taking a swipe at the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Kejriwal said that the party was hellbent on “throwing out Muslims, Christians and Jains from India."

“These elections are not about any single manifesto. It is about saving India as a country. Amit Shah had said that all infiltrators except Buddhists, Hindus and Sikhs will be thrown out. Will Muslims, Jains and Christians be mob lynched or thrown in the ocean? The BJP is fulfilling Pakistan’s agenda because even Pakistan wants to divide our country," he added.

AAP has fielded seven candidates for the polls, with Chandni Chowk candidate Pankaj Gupta, East Delhi candidate Atishi Marlena, North West Delhi candidate Gugan Singh, South Delhi candidate Raghav Chadha, North East Delhi candidate Dilip Pandey, West Delhi candidate Balbir Singh Jakhar and New Delhi candidate Brajesh Goel.

Subscribe to newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperLivemint.com is now on Telegram. Join Livemint channel in your Telegram and stay updated

My Reads Logout