Home / Elections 2019 / Election Results 2019 /  YSRCP sweeps AP, shock for TRS as Cong-BJP lead in some seats in Telangana

The YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) in Andhra Pradesh (AP) seems to be on course for a clean sweep (in both assembly and Lok Sabha seats), with the Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy-led outfit leading in 23 out of the 25 parliamentary seats, leaving just two seat for the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which is on its way out in the state.

Information from the Election Commission of India’s (ECI) website showed that (at 12.09 pm) the YSRCP was leading in a staggering 148 assembly seats out of 175, while the TDP, led by chief minister N. Chandrababu Naidu was leading in 25 seats. The win is a huge boost for Jagan, who has been in the opposition since 2011, the year in which he formed the YSRCP after quitting the Congress.

The results, which were predicted by some exit polls, are a huge disappointment for the TDP and Naidu especially, who was looking to form a coalition against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on a national level.

More surprisingly are the Lok Sabha results in Telangana, which has 17 members of parliament (MP). The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), led by chief minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao, was leading in just nine seats at 12.17 pm, much lesser than the 16 it claimed it would win. While the Congress was leading in three, the BJP surprised everyone by also leading in three seats of Secunderabad, Karimnagar and Nizamabad, which was won in 2014 by Rao’s daughter K. Kavitha.

Catch all the updates in our LIVE Blog: Andhra Assembly Election Results 2019

The All India Majilis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), headed by sitting MP Asaduddin Owaisi, is likely to retain the Hyderabad parliamentary constituency. Owaisi was leading by over 60,000 votes over the BJP’s Bhagwant Rao. The Election Commission of India (ECI) website also showed the AIMIM leading in another Lok Sabha seat, which is likely to be the Aurangabad Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra. If the AIMIM wins that, then it will be the first time in its history that it wins a seat out of Hyderabad.

Rao had been claiming a sweep of all the Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, and was looking to leverage that in case the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) falls short of numbers to form the government. However, with the BJP leading in as many as 290 plus seats, it is unlikely that the TRS will play a role in national politics this time. Rao has been advocating trying to form a federal front with other regional parties, for which he met several state-level leaders of different political parties since last year.

In 2014, out of the total 17 Lok Sabha seats, the TRS won 11, the Congress 2, BJP 1, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 1, AIMIM and YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) 1 in Telangana. Subsequently, MPs from the TDP, YSRCP and one from Congress defected to the TRS. Just five months prior to the Lok Sabha poll results, the TRS stormed to power in the assembly 2018 December elections, by winning 88 of the 119 seats. Since then, 11 of the main opposition Congress’s 19 MLAs have defected to Rao’s party. The TDP won 15 seats (in an alliance with the BJP, which won two seats) and the YSRCP eight. The TDP had in fact been expecting a close fight, but the results seem to be going in the YSRCP’s direction.

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout