Home / Elections / Lok Sabha Elections 2019 /  BJP retains most of its sitting MP's from Karnataka for Lok Sabha elections

BENGALURU : The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday announced 21 out of the 28 candidates for Karnataka and retaining 14 sitting members of parliament, indicating how the outfit was forced to continue with the same people despite anti-incumbency and opposition against several leaders from within its own party.

Karadi Sanganna Amarappa, the sitting MP from Koppal has been left out of the first list of those it named to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, scheduled to begin from the second week of April.

The BJP announced a total of 184 names in its first list including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Amit Shah, the national president of the party.

Modi will contest from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh while Shah will contest from Gandhinagar in Gujarat.

However, in the 21 candidates announced late on Thursday, the BJP did not release its choice for Bengaluru South that was the constituency of its late leader, Ananth Kumar. The party had managed to convince Kumar's wife, Tejaswini Ananth Kumar to contest but her name finds no mention in the first list, raising speculation if the party was still considering its options in a seat which it has held since 1996.

Defectors from Congress including Umesh Jadhav and A.Manju have been named as the BJP candidates from Kalaburagi and Hassan respectively.

All four fire brand parliamentarians--Ananthkumar Hegde, Shobha Karandlaje, Prathap Simha and Naveen Kumar Kateel--have been given tickets from Uttara Kannada, Udupi-Chikamagaluru, Myuru-Kodagu and Dakshina Kannada districts respectively.

The nominations of Hegde and Karandlaje continued despite the opposition from within the party and anti-incumbency factor against the two leaders in their respective constituencies.

BJP's list coming out three days after nomination process began in Karnataka. However, the Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) or JD(S) coalition, who have decided seat sharing between the two, are yet to release its list that has so far been limited to the nominations of Nikhil Kumaraswamy and Prajwal Revanna, the two grandsons of former PM H.D.Deve Gowda, from Mandya and Hassan.

Union minister D.V.Sadananda Gowda has been named from Bengaluru South while G.S.Basavaraj is the BJP's choice for Tumakuru seat. Deve Gowda, who is yet to make up his mind on a seat of his choice, the JD(S) supremo is likely to contest from either of the two seats.

Former Karnataka Chief Minister B.S.Yeddyurappa's son,B.Y.Raghavendra has been named to continue from the Shivamogga seat, from where he won in the November 2018 by-polls. Former Congress leader and close aide of former Karnakata CM, Siddaramaiah, V.Srinivas Prasad has been named to contest from Chamrajanagar.

The party also deciding against going with J.Shantha, its candidate for the November by-polls and sister of BJP strongman, B.Sriramulu. It has named Devendrappa as its choice from the mineral rich district.  

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
Get alerts on WhatsApp
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout