Home / Elections / Lok Sabha Elections 2019 /  EC to announce 2019 Lok Sabha elections dates today

New Delhi: The Election Commission is all set to announce Lok Sabha polling schedule for 2019 on Sunday evening. Ending speculation for the past few days, EC announced the details of its press conference.

The schedule will be announced at a press conference on Sunday evening at 5pm at the plenary hall of Vigyan Bhawan in the national capital. All three top members of the EC including chief election commissioner Sunil Arora as well as election commissioners Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra will brief the media.

Term of the Lok Sabha ends on 3 June. The Bharatiya Janata Party led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) which came to power in 2014 with a historic mandate is seeking re-election while Congress led opposition parties are bidding to form alliances in key states to challenge the incumbent.

Apart from Lok Sabha schedule, four state assembly elections for Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh are also likely to be announced. Terms of all the four state assemblies end by mid June. 

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.
Recommended For You
Edit Profile
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout