The Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to return to power at the Centre. BJP was leading in as many as 291 of the 542 seats for which the trends were available, well past the half-way mark in the 543-member Lok Sabha, according to the Election Commission. Rival Congress was ahead in 50 seats.

BJP seemed to be holding off the much-feared Mahagathbandhan in Uttar Pradesh while making huge inroads in West Bengal. The party has retained its dominance in the Hindi heartland, while notching gains Odisha and the northeast.

Mint brings you a list of seats of interest:

1. Wayanad

Winning: Rahul Gandhi | Margin: 406869

Trailing: P.P. Suneer of Communist Party of India

Rahul Gandhi’s surprise second seat in Wayanad angered the Left, which vowed to defeat him. It also gave BJP the chance to say the Congress president was scared he’d lose his pocketborough of Amethi.

2. Begusarai

Winning: Giriraj Singh | Margin: 227951

Trailing: Kanhaiya Kumar of Communist Party of India

This became a hot seat in 2019 after JNU student union leader Kanhaiya Kumar decided to make his debut in politics as a CPI candidate. He went up against BJP’s Giriraj Singh and RJD’s Tanveer Hassan. Bollywood celebrities like Javed Akhtar, Shabana Azmi and Swara Bhaska campaigned for him.

3. Pathanamthitta, Kerala

Winning: Anto Antony | Margin: 34364

Trailing: Veena George of Communist Party of India (Marxist)

The seat was the Ground Zero of the protests against the Supreme Court allowing women of all ages entry into the Sabarimala temple, giving politicians a chance to play the religion card in a Left-dominated seat. Anto Antony of Congress vs Veena George of CPM vs K Surendran of BJP

4. Gulbarga

Winning: Umesh G Jadhav| Margin: 73050

Trailing: Mallikarjun Kharge of Congress

Sitting Congress MP and opposition leader Mallikarjun Kharge has a strong base among the scheduled caste community in the reserved constituency of Kalaburagi, formerly Gulbarga. He’s held the seat twice but is under pressure this time as a number of his party members have crossed over to BJP, which fielded Umesh Jadhav

5. Gauhati

Winning: Bobbeeta Sharma | Margin: 23975

Trailing: Queen Oja of BJP

Film and TV personality Bobbeeta Sharma of Congress took on the equally popular former Guwahati Municipal Corporation mayor Queen Oja of BJP.

6. Mandya

Winning: Sumalatha Ambareesh (Independent) | Margin: 19915

Trailing: Nikhil Kumaraswamy of JDS

For HD Deve Gowda’s grandson Nikhil 2019 Lok Sabha election marks his political debut. Sumalatha contested the seat as an Independent after Congress refused her the seat which was her husband Ambareesh’s stronghold until his recent death.

My Reads Logout