MUMBAI : Bollywood actors Aamir Khan and Priyanka Chopra, industrialists Anil Ambani and Deepak Parekh, and Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Governor Shaktikanta Das were among the early voters in Mumbai today during polling for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections.

Tata Sons chairman N Chandrasekaran and his wife voted at a polling booth at Worli in Central Mumbai, while Adi Godrej cast his ballot in the Malabar Hill area in south Mumbai.

RBI Governor Shaktikanta Das also exercised his democratic right near his official residence at Pedder Road, his first vote after taking charge as head of the central bank in December last year.

Others to cast their votes included Anil Ambani, who came in early at a booth in Cuffe Parade, and auto major Mahindra and Mahindra's managing director Pawan Goenka, who exercised his franchise in suburban Juhu.

Ashish Chauhan, the managing director and chief executive of Asia's oldest stock bourse BSE, also cast his vote, as did American brokerage Morgan Stanley's managing director Riddham Desai.

Other bigwigs of India Inc are also expected to cast their vote as the day progresses.

Having six Lok Sabha seats, Mumbai is home not only to Bollywood stars but also 7 of India’s 19 richest people including Mukesh Ambani and Uday Kotak.

Mukesh Ambani, who heads Reliance Industries, and Kotak, managing director of Kotak Mahindra Bank, created a stir this month by publicly endorsing Congress candidate Milind Deora from their upscale South Mumbai constituency.

India’s largest conglomerates including Reliance Industries Ltd. and the Tata Group, its two main stock markets and its Hindi film industry are all housed in Mumbai. Billionaires who call it home include Mukesh Ambani and Kumar Mangalam Birla, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and Bollywood superstars Amitabh Bachchan and Shah Rukh Khan. Slums can often be found nestled close to the homes of its rich and famous.

Actor Sanjay Dutt had joined his sister and two-time former Congress lawmaker Priya Dutt on the campaign trail as she seeks to reclaim a seat she lost in 2014, while actress Urmila Matondkar, also from the opposition Congress party, is making her electoral debut.

Among other prominent voters were actors Rekha, Kangana Ranaut, Madhuri Dixit and Anupam Kher.

(Agency inputs)

My Reads Logout