Home / Elections / Lok Sabha Elections 2019 /  Lok Sabha 2019: Congress announces candidates in Karnataka; Kharge, Moily among nominees

The Congress party announced a 18 member list of candidates for Karnataka late on Saturday that included sitting members of parliament as well as incumbent legislators.

The party did not name candidates for Bengaluru South and Dharwad parliamentary seats.

The Congress coming out with its list almost days after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) while its coalition partner Janata Dal (Secular) or JD(S) has announced just three of the eight seats it has as part of the pre-poll alliance between the two parties.

Congress heavyweight Mallikarjun Kharge has been named as the candidate from Kalaburagi (Gulbarga) to take on the BJP's Umesh Jadhav.

The Congress has 20 and the JD(S) eight seats as part of alliance agreement, which is an extension of state level alliance between the two parties that cane about after the states electorate delivered a hung verdict in May last year.

The party has gone with Mithun Rai, as it's choice for Dakshina Kannada constituency,the only seat it is contesting in the BJP dominated coastal districts of Karnataka.

The Congress tried to retain all of its 10 MP seats but was unsuccessful in keeping Tumakuru seat from its alliance partner, the JD(S). Former Prime Minister H.D.Deve Gowda announced that he would contest from Tumakuru seat after he relinquished his Hassan constituency for his 28 year old grandson, Prajwal Revanna.

The sitting Congress MP, S.P.Muddahanumegowda has announced that he will file his nomination on Monday as well, adding to the simmering tensions between the two parties, that have shared a tempestuous past in parts of South Karnataka.

Seniors like K.H.Muniyappa and Veerappa Moily have been named as the Congress candidates from Kolar and Chikkaballapura respectively, showing how the party was not in any mood to experiment or hamper its own chances in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, scheduled to commence from the second week of April.

Congress working president and legislator from Bhalki, Eshwar Khandre has been named as the party's choice from Bidar. 87 year old Shamnur Shivashankarappa, a sitting legislator, has been named as the party's choice from Davangere seat. Rizwan Arshad is the party's choice from Bengaluru Cenral seat while V.S.Ugrappa has been nominated to continue as the candidate from the mineral rich district of Ballari, from where he won the November by-polls.

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.
Post your comment

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout