Karnataka witnessed polling of around 67.72% in the fourteen constituencies, predominantly in northern districts, that went to the ballot on Tuesday, compared to 2014 where it recorded 66.82%.

Polling in the the northern part of the state lower than in the south, which registered around 69%.

The voting on Tuesday brings polling to an end in all 28 parliamentary constituencies of the state, half of which went to the ballot on 18 April.

Shivamogga (Shimoga) district, the home constituency of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president, B.S.Yeddyurappa registered polling of 76.46%, according to information provided by state election authorities.

The numbers likely to vary as the final figures had still not been compiled at the time of filing this report.

Though voting was peaceful across constituencies, several people took to social media to complain about malfunctioning electronic voting machines (EVM’s).

“Close to 20 EVMs replaced in Chittapur alone. Wonder if they are being tested before deployment," Priyank Kharge, Karnataka’s social welfare minister wrote on Twitter. He had earlier posted that there were many EVM’s malfunctioning in his home constituency.

Priyank is the son of veteran Congress leader, Mallikarjun Kharge who is looking to secure a hat trick of parliamentary election victories from Kalaburagi (Gulbarga), about 630 kms from Bengaluru. Kalaburagi registered 59.39% polling.

The BJP was quick to circulate a video of Mallikarjun Kharge in which the veteran is seen casting his vote with his wife in a polling booth, that the saffron party claimed a clear violation of provisions.

Chikkodi saw polling of 75.42% , 70.34% in Bagalkot, 74.07% in Uttara Kannada and 72.57% in Davangere.

10 females included, 237 candidates are in the fray from these fourteen constituencies which has a total of over 2.4 crore voters across a total of 28,022 polling stations.

Two union ministers--Ananth Kumar Hegde and Ramesh Jigajinagi--were also among those whose constituencies went to the polls on Tuesday.

The third phase of voting in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections also saw Prime Minister Narendra Modi cast his vote in Ahmedabad, Gujarat on Tuesday.

Of the 14 parliamentary seats, 10 are currently with the BJP and four with the Congress. Of this, the BJP has eight members who are multiple term incumbents but are relying on Modi for votes like several of their colleagues in other parts of the state and country. The Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) coalition is trying to bring down the BJP, which has performed consistently well in parliamentary elections, to single digits in the ongoing polls that would not only help the alliance increase its national tally but also save the H.D.Kumaraswamy led government in Karnataka.

The coalition had accused the Income Tax department of acting on behest of the Modi government and targeting the political opposition. According to election authorities, cash, liquor and gold valued at over 88 crores has been seized in the state during the two phases of polling.

The results for all Lok Sabha seats is scheduled to be announced on 23 March.

My Reads Logout