Home / News / Bihar news: Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar CM to snap ties with BJP; what happens next?

Janata Dal (United) chairperson Nitish Kumar on Tuesday submitted his resignation to the Bihar Governor, Phagu Chauhan, after snapping ties with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), bringing an end to the coalition government in the state. According to the reports, Nitish Kumar arrived at the residence of Rabri Devi in Patna where Congress and Left party leaders and MLAs had met earlier today for a meeting. As Nitish Kumar ended his alliance with the BJP, speculation is rife that he would seek another appointment from the Bihar governor. But not alone.

According to the reports, Nitish Kumar will ask for a second appointment with Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan. During the second appointment, Nitish Kumar will be accompanied by RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav. Bihar political crisis LIVE Updates

After resigning as the chief minister, Nitish Kumar met Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejashwi Yadav and his mother, Rabri Devi, at the latter's residence. Nitish Kumar and Tejashwi Yadav were later seen leaving her residence together. Some RJD sources have said that during the meeting, Nitish Kumar told Tejashwi Yadav that they should “begin a new chapter".

“Let us forget what happened in 2017 and begin a new chapter," said JD (U) leader Nitish Kumar to RJD's Tejashwi Yadav, RJD sources have said.

This is in reference to July 2017 when Nitish Kumar pulled out of an alliance with the Lalu Prasad-led RJD and stitched an alliance with the BJP to form a new government in the state. Announcing his decision, Nitish Kumar had then quoted corruption and criminal cases against Tejashwi Yadav, who was the Bihar deputy chief minister in Nitish Kumar's tenure, and his father Lalu Prasad Yadav.

According to the reports, the duo – Nitish Kumar and Tejashwi Yadav – is now marching to the Governor's office, likely to stake claim to form a new JD(U)-RJD coalition government in the state.

If Nitish Kumar claims to have majority to form the next government in Bihar, he will have to prove it by facing a floor test. 


In the Bihar Assembly election 2020, the RJD had emerged as the single-largest party. However, despite being the single-largest party, the Mahagathbandhan or the grand alliance couldn't form a government as the majority was still with the NDA.

In the Bihar Assembly of 242 seats, the majority mark was 121, and to win, a party or an alliance needed 122 seats.

In the NDA, the BJP alone had won 74 seats, while the JD(U) had settled at 43. Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) had 4 and Hindustan Awaam Party (Secular) won 4.

But the RJD had won 75 seats, emerging as the single-largest party in the elections, and the Congress won only 19. RJD's number rose to 79 after four AIMIM leaders switched to the party.

Left parties won 16, and the CPI (ML-Liberation) bagged 12.

While the NDA had won 125 seats, the RJD and its allies had bagged a total of 110 constituencies. AIMIM has won 5 seats but has only 1 left after four MLAs switched sides to the RJD. Lok Janshakti Party had won just one seat.



Chanchal is a chief content producer at LiveMint. Chanchal is obsessed with Google incognito. She likes writing, politics, Oxford comma, Eddie Vedder, and a good keyboard. Follow her @chanchaltracks. If you have a story idea, send her a mail at chanchal@htdigital.in
Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout