Home >News >India >3 Chennai metro stations rechristened in the name of Annadurai, MGR and Jayalalithaa

The Tamil Nadu government has passed an order to rename three metro stations in Chennai after three late Chief Ministers of the state. According to a government order, the Alandur station will be called 'Arignar Anna Alandur Metro', the Central Metro as 'Puratchi Thalaivar Dr M G Ramachandran Central Metro' and the CMBT station as 'Puratchi Thalaivi Dr J Jayalalithaa CMBT Metro.'

"Tamil Nadu CM issues order to rename three Metro stations in Chennai. Alandur Metro to be renamed as Arignar Anna Alandur Metro, Central Metro as Puratchi Thalaivar Dr MG Ramachandran Metro & CMBT Metro as Puratchi Thalaivi Dr J Jayalalithaa CMBT Metro: Tamil Nadu CMO," ANI tweeted

Chief Minister K Palaniswami said the stations have been renamed after the state government accepted the recommendations of a high-level committee. The three Chennai Metro stations have been named after former Chief Ministers C.N. Annadurai, M.G. Ramachandran and Jayalalithaa.

He also listed out the steps taken by the AIADMK government under Jayalalithaa in implementing the Metro Rail project in the city.

The Chennai Metro is a rapid transit system serving the city of Chennai, Tamil Nadu. It is the third largest metro system in India after Delhi Metro and Hyderabad Metro. The system commenced service in 2015 after partially opening the first phase of the project. The network consists of two colour-coded lines covering a length of 45.1 kilometres.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout