Home >News >India >Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, George Fernandes awarded Padma Vibhushan posthumous

As the past year marked the departure of some of the Bharatiya Janata Party's stalwarts, President Ram Nath Kovind will be conferring posthumously India's highest civilian award -- the Padma Vibhushan -- to former BJP leaders Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj, along with George Fernandes.

At the same time, in the list of awards announced by the Union home ministry on Saturday, industrialist Anand Mahindra has been awarded the Padma Bhushan in the field of trade and induatry.

Likewise, sportspersons P.V. Sindhu and Mary Kom have been conferred the Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan respectively, while film producers Ekta Kapoor, Karan Johar, film actor Kangana Ranaut and singer Adnan Sami have been awarded the Padma Shri.

While a total of seven people have been awarded the Padma Vibhushan, 16 have been conferred the Padma Bhushan and 118 have been awarded the Padma Shri.

The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian Awards of the country and are conferred for contribution in various disciplines such as social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports and civil service.

The award, which is conferred by the President, is announced on the eve of Republic Day.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout