Home / News / India /  Mamata Banerjee wins Bhabanipur bypolls by a record 58,832 votes
Listen to this article

Bhabanipur by-election 2021: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has won Bhabanipur bypolls by nearly 59,000 votes, record margin so far. She defeated BJP's Priyanka Tibrewal. The TMC had won this seat in the April-May assembly polls by a margin of around 28,000 votes.

According to the Election Commission of India, Banerjee secured 85,263 votes which is around 71.90% of the total votes connected in the bye-elections. Her main challenger Priyanka Tibrewal got 26,428 votes and CPI-M's Srijib Biswas secured 4,226 votes.

“I have won the Bhabanipur Assembly bypolls with a margin of 58,832 votes and have registered the victory in every ward of the constituency," the chief  minister said while addressing a press conference in Kolkata. 

She further said that around 46% of people in Bhabanipur are non-Bengalis. "They all have voted for me. People of West Bengal are watching Bhabanipur, which has inspired me," Banerjee said. 

The chief minister also targeted the Centre, saying it hatched conspiracies to remove the TMC from power. “I was hurt in my feet so that I don't contest the polls. I am grateful to the public for voting for us and to ECI for conducting polls within 6 months," she added. 

Banerjee thundered that people of Bhabanipur gave a befitting reply to the conspiracy that was hatched in Nandigram, where she lost the election to BJP's Suvendu Adhikari earlier this year. 

Banerjee had to contest in byelection as she was defeated in Nandigram by her former colleague Adhikari. It was a close contest but eventually Suvendu sailed through against his former boss.    

Speaking to media, BJP's Bhabanipur candidate Priyanka Tibrewal said: “I am 'Man of the Match' of this game because I contested the election in Mamata Banerjee's stronghold and got more than 25,000 votes. I will continue doing the hard work." 

A lawyer by profession, Tibrewal is the vice-president of the West Bengal unit of BJP Yuva Morcha. She is also the petitioner in the Calcutta High Court against the post-poll violence in the state. 

The High Court has ordered a CBI probe in violence in West Bengal after the Assembly elections. 

On the other hand, CPI(M) fielded Srijib Biswas, also a lawyer by profession in the Bhabanipur constituency.

The counting of votes for by-elections in Bhabanipur, Jangipur, and Samserganj Assembly constituencies in West Bengal began at 8 am on Sunday amid tight security.

The total number of voters in Bhabanipur is 20,64,56; of which 1,11,243 are male and 95,209 are women. There were 287 booths in Bhabanipur, of which the number of main booths was 269.

The bypolls for Bhabanipur Assembly constituency took place on September 30.

Trinamool Congress had registered a landslide victory in assembly polls winning 213 of 294 seats in the West Bengal assembly. The BJP won 77 seats.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout