Home / News / India /  Cabinet reshuffle: PM Modi meets BJP MPs ahead of rejig; Scindia, Thakur in attendance

Prime Minister Narendra Modi met members of Parliament from Bharatiya Janata Party hours before the cabinet expansion on Wednesday. Senior leaders and incumbent ministers, like Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh, as well as ministerial probables, including Jyotiraditya Scindia and Sarbananda Sonowal, were present during the meeting at Lok Kalyan Marg. Junior ministers including Anurag Thakur and G Kishan Reddy, who might be elevated, were also present.

This will be the first reshuffle in the Council of Ministers since the Bharatiya Janata Party came into power second time in 2019, and fourth since 2014. The rejig comes right before key state elections, as government tries to shake the disruption and impact of the Covid-19 pandemic. The expansion may see some new names from BJP and its allies introduced to the cabinet as the party prepares for the polls.

Ahead of the meeting with the Prime Minister, several incumbent ministers stepped down from their posts. Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, along with HRD Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank', Chemicals and Fertilisers Minister D V Sadananda Gowda, and Minister of State for Environment Babul Supriyo were among the ministers who have furnished their resignations.

Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar, Minister of State for Education Sanjay Dhotre and Minister of State for Women and Child Development Debasree Chaudhuri have also resigned from their posts.

Pokhriyal had tested positive for COVID-19 in April and was admitted to the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) in Delhi in June again following post-Covid complications. He has resigned citing health reasons, news agency PTI reported.

Dhotre, a BJP MP in Lok Sabha from Maharashtra's Akola constituency, had been working as the MoS for Education, Communications and Electronics and Information Technology since May 2019. Meanwhile Chaudhuri was elected to Lok Sabha from West Bengal's Raiganj constituency in the 2019.

New ministers will take oath at 6 PM today.

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.
Post your comment

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout