Amid the novel coronavirus outbreak in the country, the number of confirmed cases in India rose to 694 on Thursday. Out of these cases, 47 are foreign nationals, said the Union Health Ministry. There have been 16 deaths so far in the country. Currently, as per the orders of the government, India is in a complete lockdown for 21 days that began from 25 March.

The number of active cases are 633. Maharashtra is the most affected state with 124 positive cases, followed by Kerala with 119 cases (including eight foreign nationals).

Andaman and Nicobar reports its first positive case today. Along with that, Manipur, Mizoram and Puducherry also have one positive cases each.

In a press briefing toady afternoon, Lav Aggarwal, Joint Secretary, Union Health Ministry said, "While the numbers of Covid-19 cases are increasing, the rate at which they are increasing appears to be relatively stabilizing. However, this is only the initial trend."

The ministry also added that 43 fresh cases and four deaths related to coronavirus have been reported in the last 24 hours.

Out of these, 45 cases have been cured or discharged, the ministry informed.

The ministry also spoke about community transmission phase and said, "Community transmission phase will start if the community the government don't work collectively and follow guidelines. But it would never happen in India if we follow social distancing and treatment properly."

Meanwhile, Madhya Pradesh registered its first death due to coronavirus when a 65-year-old woman from the major pilgrim town Ujjain died on Wednesday afternoon.

Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan chaired a GoM meeting to assess the situation in the wake of the Covid-19 outbreak in the country. According to officials, the ministry of home affairs is monitoring the lockdown through a control room.

Here is a state-wise count of coronavirus as per the health ministry:

Andaman & Nicobar: 1

Andhra Pradesh 11

Bihar 6

Chandigarh 7

Chhattisgarh 6

Delhi 36

Goa 3

Gujarat 43

Haryana 30

Himachal Pradesh 3

Jammu & Kashmir 13

Karnataka 55

Kerala 118

Ladakh 13

Madhya Pradesh 20

Maharashtra 124

Manipur 1

Mizoram 1

Odisha 2

Puducherry 1

Punjab 33

Rajasthan 41

Tamil Nadu 26

Telangana 44

Uttar Pradesh 41

Uttarakhand 5

West Bengal 10

Following government guidelines on imposing a 21-day country-wide lockdown, Indian aviation regulator Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) has extended the suspension of international flights to and from India to 14 April.

My Reads Logout