Home / News / India /  Delhi Assembly polls: AAP fields Kejriwal from New Delhi seat, Sisodia from Patparganj

Delhi's ruling Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday announced its list of 70 candidates for the Delhi Assembly elections to be held on 8 February next month.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will contest from the New Delhi Assembly seat while his deputy Manish Sisodia from the Patparganj Assembly seat, the party's Political Affairs Committee said in New Delhi.

The political affairs committee said that 46 of the sitting MLAs will re-contest the Assembly elections, but 15 sitting MLAs have been replaced.

The list also comprises eight women candidates.

Among the new faces in the list are Shoaib Iqbal from Matia Mahal (former Congress member) and Prahlad Singh Sawhney from Chandni Chowk. The party has also given tickets to some of its Lok Sabha candidates who were defeated in 2019 elections. Dilip Pandey will fight from Timarpur, Atishi from Kalkaji and Raghav Chadha from Rajinder Nagar.

Delhi will go to polls on February 8 and the counting of votes will take place on February 11.

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout