Home >News >India >EC defers elections in 2 assembly seats in Bengal, 1 in Odisha

New Delhi: Citing coronavirus restrictions, the Election Commission Monday deferred elections for two assembly seats in West Bengal and the by-election for a seat in Odisha, all of which were scheduled for May 16.

The assembly polls in Jangipur and Samserganj constituencies of West Bengal and the bypoll for Odisha's Pipli seat were adjourned due to death of contesting candidates of recognised political parties.

The polling was then slated for May 16.

"Commission after taking all material facts and inputs of chief electoral officer of West Bengal and CEO Odisha in consideration and taking note of lockdown and restrictions under Disaster Management Act, 2005...has decided to defer the scheduled poll...Fresh notification will be issued after assessing the pandemic situation," the EC said in a statement.

The poll panel has also decided to lift the model code from the three constituencies with immediate effect.

The poll code will come into force after fresh notifications for the three elections are issued. PTI NAB TIR TIR

This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout