Home >News >India >Gujarat CM-elect Bhupendra Patel meets Governor, stakes claim to form govt
Listen to this article

Gujarat’s chief minister-designate Bhupendra Patel met state Governor Acharya Devvrat on Sunday evening at Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar and staked claim to form the government.

"Today paid a courtesy call to his excellency the Governor of Gujarat, Acharya Devvratji at Raj Bhavan," Patel wrote on Twitter. 

He was accompanied by the central and state leaders, including former CM Vijay Rupani.

Patel was elected as the leader of the BJP legislature party after Rupani stepped down from the position on Saturday.

Earlier BJP chief CR Patil informed that Patel will take oath as the new chief minister of Gujarat on Monday.

"Gujarat Chief Minister-elect Bhupendra Patel will take oath tomorrow. No one else will take oath along with him as the name of Deputy Chief Minister is not decided yet," said Patil. The state BJP chief said that details about the new cabinet will be finalised later.

Patel is an MLA from the Ghatlodia seat, which was previously held by Anandiben Patel, who is currently serving as the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, with an additional charge of Madhya Pradesh.

A first-time MLA, Patel had won his seat by a margin of 117,000 votes in 2017, the largest margin in that poll defeating Congress candidate Shashikant Patel.

He has served as chairman of the Standing Committee of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation and had also chaired the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA). Patel has also served as municipal councillor in Ahmedabad.

With Assembly polls in the state scheduled to take place in 2022, BJP went with Patel, a Patidar face for the Chief Minister.

In Gujarat, the Patidars are a dominant caste with a sizeable control over the electoral votes. The community also dominates the political economy with a stronghold over education, realty and cooperative sectors.

Rupani took charge as the Chief Minister of Gujarat on August 7, 2016. He currently represents Gujarat's Rajkot West as MLA. In the 2017 state election, the BJP won 99 of the state's 182 Assembly seats, Congress got 77 seats.

With inputs from agencies. 

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout