Home >News >India >IMD issues red, orange alerts for Karnataka; predicts rainfall in Bengaluru for next 48 hours

The India Meteorological Department (IMD) on Friday issued red and orange alerts for Karnataka after coastal part of the state experienced widespread rainfall. The IMD said low pressure area to form over West and Central region in the coming days. Therefore, the weather department issued orange alert on July 9, 10 and 13. It issued red alert on July 11 and 12.

Further, Bengaluru is very likely to experience rain and thundershower during next two days, CS Patil, Director, IMD Bengaluru, said on Friday.

As per the IMD, orange colour signifies very heavy rainfall, and red colour signifies exceptionally heavy rainfall.

Further Patil said Jogg Falls, located in the Uttara Kannada district is drying up this season due to less rainfall in the region. He also mentioned that coastal, Malnad districts like Shivvamoga, Chikkmagaluru, Hassan and Kodagu district received deficit rainfall from June 1 - July 7.

As per the IMD rainfall statistics from June 1- July 9, Shimoga, Udipi, Dakshin Kannada, Kodagu, Mysore, Hassan, and Chikmagalur have remained rain deficient regions this year.

On the other hand, Bidar, Gulbarga, Belgaum, Bagalkot, Dharwad, Raichur, Koppal, Gadag, Bellary, Devangere, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Mandhya, Chamarajanagar, and Bangalore rural have experienced 'excess' to 'very excess' rainfall in the same duration.

With the strengthening of southwest monsoon over the Arabian Sea and a low-pressure area expected to form over west-central and adjoining north-west Bay of Bengal around July 11, rain activity over the west and east coasts will increase, as per the IMD predictions.

The increase in rain activity is likely to continue for the next 5 days. During July 9-12, heavy to very heavy rainfall is very likely over Maharashtra and Goa, Coastal Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, Karnataka, and Kerala.

The intensity and distribution of rainfall are very likely to decrease over Northeast India including Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, and Tripura.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout