Home >News >India >Indian passport holders do not need prior visa to travel in these 58 countries
There are more than 50 countries where Indians either do not need visa to enter or get visa on arrival. (iStock)
There are more than 50 countries where Indians either do not need visa to enter or get visa on arrival. (iStock)

Indian passport holders do not need prior visa to travel in these 58 countries

  • Planning a foreign holiday? Find out which countries an Indian passport holder can travel without a prior visa
  • Visa-free access makes travelling cheaper and more convenient

NEW DELHI : Indian passport can make you travel to more than 50 countries all over the world without having to worry about getting a visa beforehand. According to The Henley Passport Index, Indian passport is the 84th most powerful passport to own in the world. Although behind countries like China and Brazil, Indian passport is much more powerful than the ones from most neighbours like Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bhutan.

Indian passport gives you visa-free access to 58 destinations in Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, Ocenia and Caribbean, according to the passport ranking. The list includes countries where Indian passport holders do not need visa to enter and also those where they can get visa-on-arrival.

Visa-free access to a tourist destination not only makes travelling cheaper but also hassle-free as you do not have to run behind travel agents or stand in queues at consulate offices to apply for a visa. For Indians, some of the most popular tourist destinations are within Asia itself. Countries like Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives, Mauritius, Indonesia, Sri Lanka and Thailand are the some of the popular destinations where you either get a visa-on-arrival or visa-free entry.

The Ministry of External Affairs data shows that Indonesia gives visa-on-arrival facility to Indian passport holders under which 30 days stay is without any charges. To improve access for Indian tourists, South Africa is starting online visa facility on a pilot basis while Sri Lanka has extended free tourist visa facility to Indians till 30 April.

Full list of countries where Indian passport holders don't need prior visa:



Cambodia (Visa on arrival)


Laos (Visa on arrival)

Macao (SAR China)

Maldives (Visa on arrival)

Myanmar (Visa on arrival)


Sri Lanka (Visa on arrival)

Thailand (Visa on arrival)

Timor-Leste (Visa on arrival)




Cape Verde Islands (Visa on arrival)

Comores Islands (Visa on arrival)

Ethiopia (Visa on arrival)

Gabon (Visa on arrival)

Guinea-Bissau (Visa on arrival)

Kenya (Visa on arrival)

Madagascar (Visa on arrival)

Mauritania (Visa on arrival)


Mozambique (Visa on arrival)

Rwanda (Visa on arrival)


Seychelles (Visa on arrival)

Sierra Leone (Visa on arrival)

Somalia (Visa on arrival)

Tanzania (Visa on arrival)

Togo (Visa on arrival)


Uganda (Visa on arrival)

Zimbabwe (Visa on arrival)


Cook Islands


Marshall Islands (Visa on arrival)



Palau Islands (Visa on arrival)

Samoa (Visa on arrival)

Tuvalu (Visa on arrival)




British Virgin Islands






St. Kitts and Nevis

St. Lucia (Visa on arrival)

St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Trinidad and Tobago


Bolivia (Visa on arrival)

El Salvador

Middle East

Armenia (Visa on arrival)

Iran (Visa on arrival)

Jordan (Visa on arrival)


(Source: Henley Passport Index)

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperMint is now on Telegram. Join Mint channel in your Telegram and stay updated with the latest business news.

Edit Profile
My Reads Redeem a Gift Card Logout