Home >News >India >Lok Sabha passes bill to merge Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu

NEW DELHI : The Lok Sabha on Wednesday passed the Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Bill, 2019.

The bill, which seeks to merge the two union territories into one, now awaits passage in the Rajya Sabha. The move comes three months after Jammu and Kashmir was divided into two UTs—Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

Speaking in the lower house, minister of state for home affairs G. Kishen Reddy said that the merger of the two UTs, located along the western coast near Gujarat, will be done for better administration and check duplications of various work.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli has just one district while Daman and Diu has two.

“For the government to have Minimum Government, Maximum Governance, and considering small population and limited geographical area of both the Union Territories and to use the services of officers efficiently, it has been decided to merge the UTs of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman Diu into a single UT," Reddy said.

While the bill will streamline administration across both UTs, till now, both UTs, which are situated along the western coast of Gujarat, the UTs have separate budgets and secretariats.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout