Home >News >India >Motor Vehicle Act: Fines in different states on traffic rule violation

The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways had notified the provisions of the Motor Vehicles Amendment Act 2019 last month and it was implemented in many states across the nation from 1 September.

However, many states have made some temporary provisions and have also exempted from the stiff fines that are being levied on the erring drivers. Here is the list of the states and the changes that they have made in the new amended Motor Vehicle Act.

1) Uttarakhand: The state government has made some changes in the Motor vehicle Act passed by the Centre. In Uttrakhand, if someone is found in violation of the Motor vehicle Act, for example, if someone is driving without a valid license will have to pay a fine of 2,500 instead of stipulated 5,000.

The penalty for driving with an expired license is Rs,10000, however, the state government has decided to bring it down to 5000. If someone is found to be talking in mobile while driving, the fine has been reduced to 1,000 from the proposed RS 5,000 by the Central government.

2) Gujarat: The Gujarat government was one of the first states to make changes in the amended Motor Vehicle Act. The state has revised the fine to be given by the erring riders. In Gujarat if anyone is driving without wearing a helmet and not wearing a seatbelt will have to shell out 500 instead of 1000.The state government has also decided to impose less amount of fines for the various committed under the act

Three passengers riding a two-wheeler will have to shell out 100, as opposed to 1,000. Similarly, the state will impose lesser fines on penalties such as driving without a licence, insurance documents, riding a the polluting vehicle, driving under the influence of alcohol, not giving way to emergency vehicles, among others.

3) Maharashtra: The BJP ruled state has decided that as for now it will not implement the amende Motor Vehicle Act and will seek the opinion of legal experts in this matter.

4) Karnataka:It is another BJP ruled state which has decided that it will consult with the Centre regarding the hefty fines proposed in the Amended Motor Vehicles Act.The state government has also said that it will study the Gujarat model in this regard .

5) Odisha: The Odhisha government has for now put on hold the implementation of the new Motor Vehicle Act for a period of three months. This decision was taken after reports of violent clashes between the commuters and the traffic police regarding the new MV Act.

6) Kerala: The state had initially implemented the new act but later withdrew it after protest from the people and the trade Unions.

7) Telangana, Punjab, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh: These states have decided against implementing the new amaended MV Act.

8) Haryana, Bihar, Assam, Tripura: These states have decided to implement the new MV Act in totality.

Subscribe to newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperLivemint.com is now on Telegram. Join Livemint channel in your Telegram and stay updated

My Reads Logout